You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Stuff Can't You Live Without?

in #money8 years ago (edited)

I love American Pickers too but I haven't seen it on the channel line up in a while. I saw a lady on the news last night who spent $0 on christmas - she used an exchange system - I forget where she advertised, but she traded things for a great guitar and case, some homemade sweaters, etc....quality "stuff" without adding to her already loaded closets.
I just had this conversation w my husband the other day - about what we could do without - we have way too much. I would like to do an electronics fast and live....I feel like I waste too much time watching tv, surfing the net and I don't use my phone for much more than a daytimer to be honest.

Sort:  

I love the item exchange idea! Good old barter system in its beauty.

Stuff has a way of entering your life bit by bit until you wake up surrounded by it. It is there calling out to be used, or cleaned, or put away, or looked at. It's there sucking up your life energy.

Some of the stuff is great, it brings enjoyment and usefulness. Much of it, though, can end up owning you. You have to decide which is which, as it is different for each of us.

The fact that we have "storage" bins or full garages and basements to house it all, is a huge tell. My stuff isn't there for any reason except that I don't need it or use it. So it's time to pack it up, purge, and give it to people who need it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44