All my money got confiscated! [Why we need decentralization]

in #money6 years ago (edited)


A couple of weeks back it happened to @surfermarly. Now it happened to me, too.

My bank froze my account. I am unable to access my money.

I will go into minus and won't be able to avoid incurring costs until they unblock it again.
They also informed me it would cost me at least €100.

No information on why this happened.
No information on who ordered this, so I can contact them.

I mean, I know how our system works, I know this is possible. But the inhumanity of it only really occurs to you once it actually happens to you and you're faced with not being able to access your money.

Everything happens for a reason, though. This event may have just started a whole educational video series on this channel ;)

Stay tuned!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Incredible! I can imagine how you must feel now, and you're pretty right: it's the very best motivation for us to keep promoting the new world. Banks freeze our money for no reason, social media giants sell our data without our permission...
Life behaves in waves, so I guess we're moving fast towards a completely new era, where blind confidence in centralized institutions will be replaced by autonomy and self-dependence.

Imagine, I have still no answer from my bank until today. They've blocked my account for almost two weeks now, and I have no idea why. They got all the information they asked for, but then didn't fulfill their part of the agreement which would've been unblocking my account. I moved to a new bank now, and once my money is safe I'll publish a nice article about my old bank :-)

Let's keep spreading the word!
"Ánimo" for you as Spanish people would say now.

The thing I can't stop thinking about is this: there is a person somewhere in those organisations who decided to block our accounts. This is not something that a bot or a program does. This gets approved by an actual person.

They could send a letter first and ask for more info.
They could warn us.
They could make sure we have other money sources and will be able to cover for our basic needs the moment they cut us off.

I mean, that's what we deserve, as human beings, right? We're not criminals. If we were, and they could prove that, OK. But we're not.

So they didn't do any of the above.
They simply convicted us without any proof and any concern about the impact it will have on us.

My only consolation is that this person will lose their job thanks to the blockchain. Very soon. :)

This is something everybody should worry about, no matter if it is a mistake or not. The only solution is to get as much money as possible out of the system. If it is in the bank, it is NOT your money any more - you only have a damn payment claim. Unfortunately it is hardly possible to come along without bank account.
I hope for you to get out of this as fast as possible.

Hence my strategy is not depositing money at the bank but to raise a credit :-). Serious stuff going on right now.

Amen...
Little by little.
Taking more and more people with us.

It has happened to me before too - an inquiry from the tax office in another country about a client's large transfer and the bank froze my account at their request for weeks and weeks. Horrible. It was resolved and I eventually got the transfer but no compensation for the serious problems it caused, nor the loss of business while I had no access to cash. Have had it with PayPal too. Yes. more posts please about changes to the global monetary system and how to navigate stormy waters.

Yes, it's happened with Paypal, too, in the past, but only for payments, not my whole account.

You're in Chiang Mai!! What a pity we didn't meet when I was just there.
Are there any other Chiang Mai Steemians here? I've only met nomadicsoul and suzanevolves but both of them are not in Chiang Mai anymore now I think.

Hope to come back soon! :)

LOTS of steemians here in Chiang Mai, and growing. @kenistyles hosts an active steemit mastermind group, and we have a lot of leadership support from @sourceoftruth too. Coffee when you are back this way. :)

Chase bank did the same to me back in 2012 and it was because I was receiving checks from adult industry companies. I mean what does that matter right? I was never able to reclaim my funds. Anyway the silver lining for me was getting into crypto early. Begging producers to pay me in crypto was tough but also worth it to help others learn about it back then.

They also did the same to my partner because we were traveling for 2 years overseas and didn't submit tax info so they clamped her account too. We both know the terrible feeling you have right now and here's to them releasing your funds asap! Then get as far away from them as possible please! They clearly can not be trusted when our lives depend on access to our funds..

Heartfelt positive vibes from Chiang Mai 💗

Have they given you a reason yet? Recently my crypto debit card was shut off for two weeks. I had to go through serious KYC including copies of my Panama and US id's, lease and the craziest one was all of my Google Play purchases. After they had all of that they turned my card back on. Good luck and I hope it gets fixed quickly.

Crazy...
Other than "ordered by a tax office abroad" they didn't give any reason yet. It wasn't my German tax office. I smell 'crypto'...

This is why cryptos are spreading like wildfire and the financial regulators are doomed. We are putting money back into our own hands!

Were you traveling? Sometimes they lock accounts when people travel.
But yes control is becoming more intrusive. I recently read about a couple who had the same problem. They learned that because the wifes' step mom occupies an office in congress (government) they were being investigated and accounts were locked because they didnt respond to piece of mail. Does anyone use mail?

SIster, you are kicking butt and taking names. Let us know how to help.

Heyyy sister, nice to see you here!! :)

I feel sorry for you. Decades ago, I experienced something like this and it is really horrible.
In general, we should be grateful for things like this to occur like this now. The system shows its ugly face. Time should be over to leave all our savings in a bank....
These months I experienced some really crazy situations when I needed cash. It was MY money but I had to order it and to wait for it... It was like a sort of grace to get you own money back.
I am alarmed and my trust in banks is gone.
One more important aspect: We all need good networks. In such situations it is really not good to be alone and without support.
Looking forward to your videos!

So true!

Just imagine when this happens to many people at once (financial crisis, nobody can pick up money from cash machines, etc.) It's good if we get "warning signs" like this while we're still relatively safe and have other means to get by. I will definitely be more prepared next time!

As far as I know, there is not even enough cash available - first come, first serve... As we experienced before, in case of a sudden crisis like a bank getting in troubles - the bank simply keeps closed!
Even when simple issues happen, the worries begin. One day me and a friend made an excursion. For some reason, we had extra expenses and credit cards were not accepted. All ATMs in the whole era did not work! Bad afternoon...
We should spread it that it is easy to leave our money at some bank but chances are it will not be there when needed.

Yes, there's not even 10% of cash available I think.
Time to put some under our pillows ;)

Maybe not the best way, but we should leave the path of deception... :)

I feel safer at my credit union. Hopefully that safe feeling is justified.

Oh I am SO sorry to hear this! Sending you LOVE xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70033.92
ETH 3504.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.81