Why Going For Salad With @Vajola Is A Big Deal For Us..

in #money6 years ago (edited)

26909951_10214292522403141_405055184_o.jpg

One of my first friends to join Steemit was the lovely @vajola, and today, 6 months later, as she approaches 1000 followers Vajola did something she couldn't do for a long time: She invited someone over for lunch.


Until recently, she had been struggling financially for a long time, living in what I can only describe as a "shed up a fire escape", and being badly paid for her junior cabin crew position by a certain airline company.

Thanks to Steemit however, she's been able to cash out some extra money every week and recently was able to move out to rent a modern, clean, apartment. Nothing fancy, but leagues better than the old place.

Today, she invited me over for lunch and prepared a fantastic salad. We reminisced about how much our lives have changed in only six months. Just being able to sit in a comfortable room and enjoy some healthy food together, it's something neither of us would take for granted. It really brought it home to me. Steemit is changing peoples lives. We are blessed to be early adopters and should try to make the most of this opportunity, while remaining humble as much as possible.

Vajola might play it cool, but this has improved her quality of life dramatically. So, thanks everyone for being so welcoming to me, and to my friends. I hope we can all give something back, in time.

Sort:  

That’s so awesome!!! This is just a great community we have here!!

ah stop you make me crying!!!!!

What a lovely testimony - So glad steemit is helping so many people - we all deserve a place in the sun

And I'm glad to see it's going so well for you also, Anneke! :)

Yes I was very reluctant to join Steemit and thought it was a lot of nonsense, but now I am so happy I did

'Twould certainly gladden the heart to hear stories like this and happily I'm hearing more and more of them.

Friggen awesome! I'm so happy for you. Coming from someone living out of someone's garage, I can relate how happy you must be.
Knowing @condra is itself a treasure.
I smell a win-win.
Congratulations on the upgrade!

Upvoted

Cheers man.

steemit changed people, but you made and support to vajola, by the i like the salad that she served, its one of my favorite choice.

Good Luck @vajola......hoping all crisis you'll be come over.....thanks @condra for support her!

That salad looks yummy

Gotta hand it to her. She's handy with a chopping knife.

Great you care a lot for your friends :)

This was wonderful to read, thank you for showing us Steemit!!! ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98