Not-so Random Thoughts from a Black Man from the South

in #money7 years ago

I'm a man of an intellectual property- by design. From the moment of my awareness I've reveled in the learning process. But I've never really been a huge fan of educational institutions.

They were too wishy-washy for my tastes growing up. And they were too subjective in their educational purposes- all that focus on history when the new world was right in front of us and beckoning just made no sense to me. I didn't want to carry the torch of my ancestor's fight against racism, and I didn't want to salute someone from the past for tackling a past objective when there was still so many new and emerging objectives to focus on.

Unlike most people, I didn't view racism as worthy of my attention. I didn't care what others thought, and I didn't see how people could simultaneously declare this country to be free and still hold on to issues from the past as their road blocks. It was crazy to me being in schools that had standardized testing that excluded the educational environment's main subjective focus of the past and all that junk. I did well in principled classes of math and literature, but when it came to "social studies" and stories of the past and the lopsided stories they portrayed- my mind refused to grasp it.

I grew up in the heart of the south, and yet my experiences are not laden with tales of racial discrimination. I don't have those stories to tell. It was only in my educational environments that racism was so front-and-center. My teachers wore their racists experiences on their sleeves. And that made me hate school even more. I had to come to learn that educational environments harbored too much subjective criteria to be wholly successful models. Not everyone learns the same way as most educational settings teach, and those setting too often don't know how to make adjustments.

I knew this even when I was in high school, although I could not articulate it that way. Then I later saw too much the same subjective formats later when I did briefly attend college. Now I see education environments as even more evil than before, because the informational possibilities are freer than they have ever been but higher learning is fashioning and dispensing the information in increasingly restrictive manners that supplant the students further and further behind than what the real world requires.

Information today is free, why are schools claiming relevancy when the same information presented in them is accessible at the cost of internet access? It's crazy, is what it is. There is no proper way to prepackage information across a monetized spectrum because the restraints within those so-called educational settings are too limiting to properly educate their constituents. Not to mention that those settings impose too much arbitrary and subjective courses just to further juice a nickel out of their students. As bad as our public school systems are, nothing is doing the world more harm than the colleges and universities of the world today.

These establishments are attractive still today not because they produced informed or educated people in droves, but because of the historical significance supplanted to them in the by-gone eras that should have taken them with them. A person could literally become whatever schools teach from the comforts of an internet access anywhere in the world. If a person would not reach across a cyberspace connection to educate himself, what makes anyone think that the paid information will serve them better? It's crazy, is what it is.

And yet instead of working of solving the issue of the craziness, we now have celebrity spokes people who hail a certain educational institution as worthy of attendance as opposed to hailing the internet as worthy of explorations. No two people learns the same way and everyone has their own interests. How do we think that fixed educational models can serve the general public good with that awareness of diverse learning options? How many more people will spend more years locked in classrooms that leaves them misinformed and less viable to the free market agenda?

It's crazy, is what it is.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cominterest2! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71