You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Emerging Trend Of Tip Inflation

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Not trying to be combative but I am reading replies from a lot of uninformed consumers. Almost every state has laws that let tipped employees to be paid less. I am a Regional Manager for Restaurants in Los Angeles. Most states, on average, pay their service staff $3 to $4 an hour. So as I'm reading all these " I only tip when I feel like it" replies, Just know someone was paid $3 with no guarantee for more money except the opportunity of a tip while you and your family sit at one of their tables and enjoy your meal for an hour. I am SURE if that server was your son or niece you would be really upset if they only made $3/hr and was not tipped.

Sort:  

So because of the government and some law and restaurant owner paying 3 to 4 $ You are gonna shame people who don't tip. Blame the restaurant owners tell them your sentence: I am SURE if that server was your son or niece you would be really upset if they only made $3/hr and was not tipped.

edit; Maybe you did that already, that I don't know of course.

Who says the owner has that money to give?! Your assumption is that all restaurant owners have a Scrooge McDuck vault of money. Imagine you have 5 servers at $3 who work 8 hours a day. What do you want to pay them? $13 sounds like a good number. $10 extra dollars an hour x 5 employees x 40 hours a week x 52 weeks in a year=? I know what it equals. It equals that restaurant shutting down and you not having the luxury of choosing that restaurant to sit down and eat dinner at and deciding if you want to tip or not in the first place.
I have seen nice restaurants sell $3 million a year in food and drinks and make $12k a year in profit after liabilities like rent and labor. In this scenario, you want to add another $104,000 to the balance sheet in the form of higher wagers and expect them to stay open? The math just isn't there. Please bring an educated comment telling me why I am wrong if you are going to reply. What you replied was not helpful or informing and that is what this community is about.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43