You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Debit / Credit Card payment might be gone by 2030

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Honestly, I think credit/debit cards will be gone before that! I'm a bog fan of crypto but thinks it's quite a few years off before it becomes mainstream. My guess - we'll be paying using out phones instead of plastic cards in the next 10 years :)
We just desperately need more "tap and pay" points in SA...

Sort:  

Yep, tap and pay with phones, or your wallet codes on your fingers :D

I have an iPhone but I have a Moto X lying around which I've tested the tap and pay on and it's awesome!! Really wish it worked everywhere here though...

Agree with you, I think smartphones will the next big payment processor... already works in certain areas

Yip, when I was in Australia last it worked EVERYWHERE!! So amazing :)

I agree with what you are saying @cheeto.blue I also think you are correct about crypto. I am just excited :)

Also super excited, but it's gonna take time... Great for us now though as I'm guessing crypto will just climb and climb (in the long run)...

"...quite a few years off before it becomes mainstream."

It could be sooner than we think. With platforms like Steemit, it's very appealing to people like me who were aware of crypto from its inception, but are late adopters because well, it's got a bit of a learning curve. I still don't understand all the workings of it, but it's gotten a lot simpler to be a part of it in recent years.

I am currently working with a company that is launching a new platform in October 2017 that will combine a huge number of social networks and blogs in one application. It will reward users in a new crypto token just for participating. They will most likely launch first in the Third World.

If you want to know more, I did a quick write-up that includes a link to the whitepaper. - http://bit.ly/2uVkvCI

I think platforms like this and Steemit will drive crypto mainstream. There are a ton of people looking for ways to monetize their online activities, and crypto is one of the best in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69