You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does the United States Spend So Much Money on Their Military?

in #money7 years ago

"It very well may be that investing in our military has an economic benefit that is greater than investing into other areas." I had to stop reading at that point. I'm sorry. I really wanted to read the whole thing, but the smell of bullshit was just so noxious that I couldn't continue.

Sort:  

Im strictly talking about economic benefit, if we want to look at humanitarian benefit, of course there are better ways to spend it. I actually think we should cut our military budget by a decent amount, im actually trying to play devils advocate in this article. That being said, there is a chance that investing into our military has real tangible benefits that we cant see.

Our bloated millitary budget only provides economic benefit to defense contractors and stock-holders. I'm a veteran. I saw more waste, fraud, and abuse in 3 years than I have seen in decades of employment and entrepreneurship in the civilian world. Think about it. They spent a trillion dollars on a fighter jet that doesn't even fly.
I was mechanized infantry. I drove a 113 Armored Personnel Carrier and a Bradley Fighting Vehicle. Having spent years in both, I can tell you that the movie "The Pentagon Wars" gives a pretty accurate account of how our tax money is being spent. Not having to spend another minute in that crowded death-trap was a reason many of my friends decided not to re-enlist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44