How I Crushed $25K in Debt! YOU CAN TOO!

in #money6 years ago

No, this isn't click bait. But, first for you to understand how to get out of debt, you should understand how I got this far in debt in the first place.

I was living at home, working full-time, had paid off a car and had very little financial responsibilities and was living a lifestyle where I quickly became addicted to shopping, eating out and traveling. Sounds pretty great right? It was, until I moved out and didn't adjust my lifestyle to accommodate my growing bills.

I was shopping for new clothes every week, eating out at expensive restaurants every few days. I even would take my friends on "dates" to these restaurants I wanted to experience because I knew they wouldn't want to spend that kind of cash on a Wednesday night dinner. I went on 2-3 trips a year, sometimes out of the country. I was going out every weekend and had no problem saying, "this round is on me" for a group of people. I was living it up, and it was out of hand.

I didn't have anyone to tell me that when I got my first credit card at 18 years old that I needed to act responsibly. No one teaches you about interest rates, about credit scores, about debt, about savings accounts and planning for the future. I wish I had a class in high school on this instead of chemistry, since I have used the periodic table so much in my adult life. ::::insert eye roll here::::

By the time I was 27 I had nearly my age in debt. It weighed heavily on me, like a ton of bricks constantly on my shoulders. I went years this way, never being about able to come out from under it.
debt-500x309.jpg

That was until I met my now husband, and we made a plan....and here is how I did it.

The Ways I Crushed $25K in Debt

  • The first thing I did was put myself on an allowance. I journaled everything I bought. I put a kibosh on spending and shopping. I began living asking myself do I NEED this, instead of do I WANT this. I began cooking more and eating out less. I even stopped getting my morning coffee for a while and drinking the free coffee at work. (Thats over $700 savings in a year btw!)
    download.jpg

  • I also moved at this time, from an apartment that was really expensive to one that was more affordable that I split with my bf. I was no longer living beyond my means.

  • By this time I had 3 credit cards, one maxed out, and was in a revolving door of paying minimums and high interest rates round and round it went. The first thing I did was apply for a zero % interest card and did a balance transfer from my biggest card. This took me to step 3..
    red-zero-percent-sign-icon-cartoon-style-vector-9493897.jpg

  • We followed the debt-snowball method. This is the school of thought that you actually don't try to pay off your most debt first when you own on multiple accounts/cards but start with the smallest. While I was letting my bucko bucks ride the zero interest wave, I was able to start paying off my small cards quickly. Mentally this was a huge motivator and stress reliever. It gave me hope.
    shutterstock_383318881.jpg

  • When my zero % interest ran out, I just opened a new card and did another balance transfer.

  • Anytime I got extra cash I hadn't budgeted for, birthdays, bonuses, tax returns, from family, etc. I threw it at my cards.
    i0ezl.jpg

That's it...over a few years we knocked it out! I raised my credit score, I was able to actually start a savings account and still got to do fun things, I just didn't live outside my means the rest of the year. Now, I start to get itchy if I have over $1K on a card, so then I start to really pay attention to my spending when that happens.

Though this is super embarrassing, I wanted to share to maybe help some of you that might be in the same situation! I wish I had someone to tell me when I first got a credit card, that's for sure!

Hopefully you found these tips useful!

Sort:  

It’s nothing emberreaing in this post! Don’t even think like this!

You know what would be?

  • When you don’t understand the problem and still do it.

Many people have the same problem. You are not the only one 🤗

You shouldn’t also regret what you did.
Why?
This costed you much, but you learn as young person. Just think what would be if you learn your lesson when you was older? When you had children? Be happy that it happened earlier.

One embarrassing thing in this story is your friends behavior. If they were “really friends” they would never let you do this things and pay for them in the expensive restaurants.

I had a friend which gave me his last money to pay my dept and force me to promise that I will never take new loan again.
I didn’t 😍😊😇

Thank you for sharing. I wish you all the best! 😍

Thank you so much for taking tome to read and comment! I appreciate the kind words and wish you the best as well!

Crushing debt feels so good doesn't it? It's super important that our generation and future generations take debt way more seriously than the boomers. It stacks up really quick and can become a hole you can never climb out of if you're not careful. This is super helpful info and its great to hear you made it work.

Thank YOU most 😘

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

These tips are great! So happy for you and wish you all the success in the world :) Fantastic news that it help got rid of your debt through that method.. thanks so much for sharing! :)

Thank you for your kind comment and reading my post!

No problem it was a great post! i'm now following you and i'm looking forward to your future posts :) Xx

Wow so grateful for this enlightenment, truly, many of us don't get to have this lessons until we're in so much debt, I'll be sure to apply these methods, thanks for sharing your experience for the sake of helping others like me.

We followed the debt-snowball method. This is the school of thought that you actually don't try to pay off your most debt first when you own on multiple accounts/cards but start with the smallest.

I didn't know anything about this until I read this post.

Thank you for reading friend!!!!

I am really touched with your life that was originally surrounded by debt owe. But now you can handle it. In your way. Thank you for the solution you offer. It's very useful for me personally to overcome my debt so far

Thank you for taking time to read it!! Best of luck!

Congratulations👍 i think if you live with no debt then you are a free person. Everything for freedom which is a life's mean for people.

Thank you for reading!

Nailed it! Congrats!!

You got a 4.67% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @evoman1!

thank you very much for sharing this friend enlightenment very useful, because in this world all human beings owe, happy to keep for you friend @breshepart
BeautyPlus_20180213095139_save.jpg

Thank you for your comment! Appreciate your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47