Merch By Amazon - When To Take Down A DesignsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money7 years ago

Merch.jpg

One of the frustrating things with Merch By Amazon is you are limited to the number of designs you can upload depending on which tier you are on. This is even harder when you are at the 10, 25, and 100 tiers.

It gets to a point where you are maxed out at designs but you are short on the number of shirts you need sold to move up to the next tier and get a new number of max designs. So when do you take down shirts that haven’t sold?

First, I wouldn’t take down any designs that have sold. If a shirt sells Amazon will let you keep it up forever. If a shirt doesn’t sell in it’s first 90 days then they will take it down.

The only time I would remove a shirt that has sold is if I made that for a specific person and they bought it already. I might also remove it if it was a holiday shirt that had passed and I needed that slot really bad.

When I first started I would drop shirts after a week or two if they hadn’t sold but as I’ve tracked it more that’s not a good idea. Since I’m now on the 500 tier I’m uploading 10 shirts a day.

I’ve noticed a lot of the time shirts don’t sell until 2-3 weeks in. Then they seem to start rolling on the sales. Sure I have the odd shirt here and there that sells in 24 hours but they aren’t the norm.

I’m not sure why this is. I think it could be because I go after smaller niches that shirts are only going to sell a couple shirts a month. It takes a little while for that particular customer to actually search for and want my shirt.

Another reason might be they are buried in the listings because they have never sold. Once they sell they move up in the rankings and they start to sell more often.

Either way I don’t recommend taking down any unsold designs until after at least 3 weeks has past. 4 weeks is probably even better.

Once you move up to the 500 and above tiers this becomes less of a problem because you have so many more slots to upload to and Amazon will be taking your old unsold designs down clearing a spot.

Hope this helps and in the comments, tell me how long you leave up a design before taking it down?

bodyinbeta steem sig.png

Sort:  

I usually leave mine up until Amazon takes them down, but then again I'm allowed to upload up to 500 designs. It would be a good idea for those who are still under 100 designs to replace the ones that aren't selling though.

Me too now that I'm on 500. I don't see me having to take them down from here on out.

so happy that I have 500 slots now and with 300+ yet to be filled I wont have to worry about this for a while lol!!!

Are you maxing out your 10 uploads a day? Won't take long to max out if you are. I'd love to see a post on your journey into Merch too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56