How I bought Happiness

in #money7 years ago (edited)

If you are just like me who has been grown up believing that money can’t buy happiness, then this article is going to put a dent in your belief system.

How did I buy Happiness?

In India, we assume that all beggars are associated with a big racket and people generally avoid giving them any money.

One day, I was waiting on my bike; cursing the traffic signal to turn green to cross the road. A child beggar came to me and asked for some money. I turned the face shamelessly to the other side showing my refusal to give any money.

I always use that ‘beggar’s racket’ weapon to save myself from any guilt caused by not helping a needy one.

Suddenly, I saw an eatery shop on the other side and that became the defining moment of my life. I parked my bike to the side and went to the eatery shop along with the child. I asked the shopkeeper to give him whatever he likes and also agreed to pay the bill.

The child pointed his finger towards the famous snacks here in India, Vada Pav. If you are not aware of it, then this is how it looks(it’s super delicious):

Vada Pav.jpg

Source: Chef Prashant Recipes

He took two of them and ate in just a matter of seconds. It was evident that he was hungry for the food and not for the money. The way he was eating; gave me goosebumps. I never thought that this small act of kindness would give me such joy.

That day, I bought happiness for just 10 bucks.

From that day onward, I always keep a few small packs of biscuits with me to distribute any beggar I come across. This seems just a small thing but in reality, it’s very powerful.

Happiness is there to Sell. Here are the other ways to buy it

Buy something from the street sellers even though you don’t need them.

Remember these are those people who chose something else over begging. It’s time to reward them.

street seller.jpg

Source: pixabay

Visit an NGO and sponsor a child’s education.

You are giving a new life to someone. If you are still not sure where to go; then there are several websites which make your work easy.

Save the Children

sponsor a child.jpg

Source: pixabay

Help an old/ disabled person.

Arrange a nurse to an old person. Or donate a wheelchair to a disabled person.

Celebrate your birthday with orphans.

You always give a party to those who enjoy it every weekend. Once try to distribute chocolates to the ones who might have never tasted it even once in their lifetime.

Donate your old clothes to ones who don’t have sufficient.

Find any organization or anyone needy to donate your old clothes. Something which is just garbage for you; may be a source of happiness for someone else. If you are in India; then here is the one place where workers would come to pick the old clothes at your doorstep.

Share At Door Step

Donate leftover foods to the needy ones.

I am not talking only the leftover in wedding/parties, you can do your due diligence even for the daily food left at your house. Here is how:

No Food Waste

Buy gifts for your parents, friends or relatives.

The smile on their face would not only make your day but also would bring a sense of warmness in your relationships.

Don’t bargain much with poor vegetable sellers.

It might cost you extra as little as the cost of your sleeping pills but the kind of sleep you will get will be indescribable.

Help disaster victims.

At least, try to give something to those who lost their everything.

Now, If you are the one who always looks things from the scientific perspective then there is enough scientific research to prove that Money can buy Happiness.

According to a new study from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School, it sort of does up to about $75,000 a year. The lower a person’s annual income falls below that benchmark, the unhappier he or she feels. But no matter how much more than $75,000 people make, they don’t report any greater degree of happiness.

Do We Need $75,000 a Year to Be Happy?

I personally don’t believe in such scientific studies. But coming from a traditional Indian family, the below snippets of Kabir perfectly struck my chord:

Sayeen Itna Deejiye, Ja Mein Kutumb Samaye
Main Bhi Bhookha Na Rahun, Sadhu Na Bhookha Jaye

Translation

Give so much O God, suffice to envelop my clan
I should not suffer cravings, nor the visitor goes unfed

I find it interesting that spending that money on someone else made me far happier than it would have if I had spent it on myself. Some hormones make us happy when we use our money to make someone else happy.

It’s a kind of buy one get two offer. We’re happier, and the people we spend it on are happier too.

Article originally published in Bliss Curator: How I bought Happiness

Like this post? Don’t forget to share it!

So, How did you buy happiness? Please do let me know by typing in the comment box below.

Sort:  

Congratulations @blisscurator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51