What if I told you that you were losing money almost every single day?

in #money7 years ago

You'd be pretty scared, right? Don't worry. Once you know this unbelievably simple trick, you will instantly start to generate revenue, so long as you fulfil one requirement.

Unfortunately, that requires effort which I know you hate. However, it is simply the creation of content. If you have NO content online, at all (and I'm going to go over what content is exactly) you will fall into a category of people that comprise the majority of the internet. A category of people known as "Lurkers".

A lurker is simply someone who does not interact at all with the content they consume online. They are ghosts; they are statistics. They don't upvote, they don't comment, they do nothing.

Now, of course, the act of lurking isn't a bad thing. Ain't no one got the time to be posting on every comment section of every video they watch or every article they read. But, my trick isn't something as simple, "comment more!"

The trick is this. Every day I see someone monopolise a comment section. They've written a highly upvoted comment so, they're now in a very visible spot in a high traffic area and do you know what they do with this ad space? Nothing. Nothing at all.

It doesn't even have to be a top comment. Seriously, only a divine entity could know how many people have read what you've written online and you made a grand total of $0 from it all.

I propose to you the following, what if you simply included a link at the bottom. Like a signature, to your website, to your steemit account, to ANYTHING that you create content on that is monetizable.

Sure, not everyone will click but some people will and you're just throwing that traffic away every time you comment. Of course, there's a subtle art to self-advertising like this but, you know, if 5 people upvote you, there's a good chance that hundreds, if not thousands will see your comment.

There may come a day where everyone will do it. A day where everyone has a personal website either for non-profit or with a donate button, merch, products, ads, whatever and they sign their comments with a link to their site.

You don't have to say anything, you know. "Here's my site", "Check out my site guys!", etc. No need. Just a cold link. Why not?

And that's how you're missing out on $$$.

Uh, and hey, if you can't afford to buy a website like me, you can get it for free

Sort:  

I like the idea but when I think about it I wonder if it would work. Like if I see someone promoting their own stuff in a comment. I might be less likely to upvote that comment. Even if its a good comment. Just a thought. Maybe if you end up top comment on a popular post you could edit in your link? Thank you for this idea.

You're right, that's actually a really good point. If your comment never took off because of people viewing your self-promotion in a negative light, it'd be a loss of potential revenue. It's something I thought of but forgot to include so thanks for the assist.

Unfortunately, my vote is only worth $0.01 but please take it.

Thank you for the upvote now I can add a link to my website. Just kidding of course but I liked the article anyways because it makes people think.

If everyone did this I would shoot myself. Actually there's already articles that have more self-promotion spam at the bottom than there was article.

I never understand the self promotion at the bottom of a blog post. Like why are they telling me about how good their steem account is doing?? I'm already reading their article. Maybe if its a website they run that's related to the post. Then it is ok.

You do do this lol. It's your username, "daxed". I can click it and go to your Steemit profile.

What's the difference between that and this?

I mean, I see where you're coming from, though and I guess, @joeyknowsbest really does know best and it's something best done with just comments that get popular.


But... I'm poor, so I'm gonna do it. My Youtube Channel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69