Why I Want to Quit my Six Figure Sales Job

in #money7 years ago

As a 21 year old guy I have many choices I have to make on what path to take my life on. Currently, I am working full time and done with school. The job I have is a nice sales job paying around six figures(if I hit my numbers) and I thought that I hit the jackpot. Many people my age are envious of the job I have simply because of the money that comes along with it. They say "wow you're lucky to be making such good money". Sure, I am young and lucky, but after hearing this statement over and over again I began to come to the conclusion, is all they see money?

ae88b948ca7d61aef3c363298bb01ab0.jpg

The title of this is "why I want to quit my six figure job", so why do I want to quit exactly? Time, happiness, passion, and my self worth. The time I spend at my "amazing job" is near 50 hours a week. I am no longer happy because I've realized now that I have money that all I want is to be with the people around me. Passion, oh passion, it's hard to be passionate about something you dislike. Obviously. But I now some of you will say "well I can be passionate about money!" sure, thats what I said when I was hired. As Warren Buffet has stated many times "don't take $10 more a week doing something you hate vs something you love" and this is inherently true. I was happier and more passionate when I was 17 waiting tables because I was happy to serve customers. No I didn't make jack but I was happy doing it. So why can't I make less at first to make more in the end by finding things I love? No reason. My self worth, this is a good one. In sales(if you haven't worked in sales before)things can be very interesting at times. Managers have the best of expectations for you, with their managers having even higher expectations for them. It's high pressure all the time and I love working with clients and helping them solve their problems, but the management atmosphere is not really for me. No this is not the first or only sales job I have had before. With time passing and coming to the realization that this isn't what I want to spend my career doing I decided to put together an exit plan to work for myself. Many of you may be thinking "wow thats crazy why would you give all that up?" Don't worry, I said the same thing reading similar statements less than a year ago. Once you finally get the money you realize it never really matters in the grand scheme of things, compared to family and fulfillment of life. My goal in life is to make a lot of money and spend all the time I want with family and friends. You probably just said "I thought you said money didn't matter so why do you still want to make a lot" well who doesn't.. My high score on candy crush doesn't mean anything but I still want rank high on the leaderboards. You get my point. I want my time, my happiness, my self worth and money with something or a few things I'm truly passionate about. Most importantly I want all of this while spending time with the people around me.

new-2017-mercedes~benz-e~class-e300sport4maticsedan-9388-16452676-8-640.jpg

The exit plan is simple, find ways to generate new income to suffice current income and build upon investments further to add security and stability. I've realized that I can make similar income doing a few things I really like and spend half the hours per week doing them. In recent times I've been finding new ways to create additional income. When I first read about Steemit I thought it was very interesting, after months of continuing to see articles and videos related to the site I decided to sign up. Safe to say, in this day and age there is more ways to generate an income than ever before. The internet is everywhere all the time and it seems almost daily I am reading about another way technology, business and money are changing. Steem, Bitcoin, Etherum and may others yet unknown forms of current still have huge potential to skyrocket. People are making money in so many ways aside from the conventional 9-5 and I love it. The world today is not the world our parents grew up in and I personally think it's certainly in our favor, think of all the opportunity the internet and technology provide us today. We can trade stocks from anywhere in the world from our phones. We can be connected to the world sharing a video out in the middle of nowhere because of the internet. It is a crazy and amazing time to be an entrepreneur and I encourage everyone to try new things. You truly never know how something will work until you try it! If you have read or heard about any interesting ways to make money comment and let me know. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

@billyman this is a very interesting post and I'm glad to hear that you have currently a promising career. Before rushing to any decisions I suggest having a plan z +1. What if after parting ways with your job all your other sources of income die. You need a plan for that. Just plan ahead and make yourself happy but accumulating a little cash beforehand might not be a bad idea

Like the perspective!

The world is changing in some interesting ways, isn't it? Even with that, it'll continue to be important to value yourself when you ask 'how much is my time worth?' Spending time with family, friends, and partners? It's worth gold.

It truly is.

Congratulations @billyman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61