[Shopping Around the World]- 1 Steem Dollar

in #money8 years ago (edited)

 

Credits

What can you buy with a one Steem Dollar? I live in Germany and a dollar is around 90 cents here. So I could buy a gum or a sneakers chocolate bar. With 1 Dollar I won't be able to buy much, that's for sure but what about other people in other countries? Let's find it out! Here are my top ten things you can get with one Dollar:

5. Poland : a shot in the bar

I picked this one because it is just unbelievable for me. Here I have to pay at least 8-10 Dollars for a shot. I don't know if it is actually a good thing that a shot is so cheap there or a bad thing. I mean people won't hesitate to get drunk there and with this price you won't think twice before buying your next one. Still I have to mention that not all bars offer 1 Dollar shots. The bar with this price is probably not going to be that fancy but I think it's costumers does not care about it after seeing the prices.

Credits

4. USA : Big Arizona Ice Tea Can

This one is probably not exciting for you guys but I have a reason why I add this here. I think this is pretty shocking how cheap something this unhealthy can be. We are talking about a lot of sugar in one can and it costs just one dollar. I think one of  the reasons of the weight problem in the US is the accessibility of these products for the people. (I am no expert so this is just my guess )

Credits

3. Egypt: Koshary Plate

In Egypt you can get a nice and delicious Koshary Plate for only 1 US Dollar. Koshary is a dish with spaghetti, lentil, rice and fried onions. According to lonelyplanet.com you could also get around 10 Beans Sandwichesin Egypt for 1$. But I'm not sure about that because of my Egyptian friend. He told me that in Cairo you definitely wont get 10 sandwiches for a dollar. However maybe it's possible in other cities.

Credits

2. India : Complete Rice Meal

As someone living in Europe or North America you can live a good life in India. Everything is really cheap for someone who earns his/her money in Dollars or Euros. So cheap that you can buy yourself a typical Indian rice meal for 1$. and not a small meal, a pretty decent one. 

Credits


1. Philippines : Foot Massage

Yes you read it right. You can get a foot massage up to one hour long for a single Dollar. There are people on the street that offers foot massages for tourists and probably also natives for this cheap. If I ever go to Philippines (which I hope one day) I will definitely accept the offer and pay them much more than a dollar. I think every tourist should do that. It won't hurt your finances if you pay more than a dollar. Below you can see a video of a man who documented his experience on tape and uploaded it on YouTube.


What about you? What things can you buy with 1 Dollar in your country. Feel free to write it in the comments section. I am really interested about it.


                                                                      I hope you enjoyed my post. 

                                    Please UpVote and Resteem this post so it can reach more people


Follow @behfar for more :)



Sort:  

A dollar is about 8 Norwegian kroner, at the store i wouldn't be able to buy anything. Its about half a liter of gasoline.

Norway is not a cheap country I guess

Cool idea for a post, I like it. :D

Thank you very much :)

In some African countries one dollar is the income of a day.

That is true and really sad at the same time

Koshary Plate for 1$? I should visit Egypt and then India. Supporting the locals by paying them generous tips :)

Thanks for your comment. That's a good Idea indeed :)

The Koshary Plate looks indeed delicious - been to Egypt recently, their food is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14