Do you wanna shop in Japan?

in #money8 years ago (edited)

If the answer is Yes to the question in the title, you need to know Japanese yen for sure.
We have many attractive and interesting goods and product here in Japan, and I am sure you want to purchase some of those!
Today, I am going to introduce JPY.

I will start with coins. We have 6 kinds of coins. I will put two pictures of the coins (front side and back side).

  • I mixed the front side and the back side of 10, 50, 100, 500.

The top left coins is 1 yen coin.

It is made of pure aluminum. The consumption tax in Japan is 8% now so we often use 1 yen coins. Young tree pattern is engraved on the coin.

The top center one is 5 yen coin.

It is made of brass. I have heard it is rare that coins have a hole in the center. Race pattern is engraved on the coin.

The top right coin is 10 yen coin.

It is made of bronze. On the front side, Byodoin hoo-do pattern is engraved.
Ref: http://www.byodoin.or.jp/en/index.html

The bottom left coin is 50 yen.

It is made of cupronickel. Chrysanthemum pattern is engraved on the front side. Sometimes Japan is referred to as land of the chrysanthemum.

The bottom center coin is 100 yen.

It is also made of cupronickel. This is close to 1 USD in terms of its value. My favorite cherry blossom pattern is engraved.

The bottom right coin is 500 yen.

It is made of nickel brass. This one is the biggest and heaviest among them! Princess tree is engraved on it.

Here are the bills. There are 4 kinds of bills in Japan but 2000 yen bill is a rare one which was made for the year of 2000, so I don't have it on hand. I will show you the rest of them.



First one is 1000 yen bill.

The name of the man is Hideyo. He was a famous bacteriologist. He died because of a disease he was researching sadly.



Second one is 5000 yen bill.

The woman's name is Ichiyo Higuchi. She was a novelist. It was the first time that a woman was selected for a design for JPY.



Last one is 10000 yen bill.

The man's name is Yukichi Fukuzawa. He was an educator and he has been to America 1860.

I hope this information helps when you actually come to Japan and go shopping!! I have used USD, AUD, Euro but every coins and bills are different and interesting! I want to collect money in other countries!!
Thank you for reading!!

  • Note: It is not allowed to copy my pictures and print out.
Sort:  

Awesome post, Arisa. I love to see money from around the world! so with the current exchange rate 10000 yen is like 100 dollars!

YES! That is why I always get confused with the numbers of zeros.. like 150,000 yen is how much dollar??? haha

Thanks for sharing, it was interesting to know:) As a child I had a few japanese coins for my dad's coin collection and by that time I thought that they are rendants and even tryed to use as ones:) Upvote and follow, hope to know more interesting stuff:)

Thank you for your comment :)
I want to collect coins from other countries! It would fun to collect them!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82