Sort:  

I disagree :)

What's food for me may not be food for you: if I'm vegetarian, then the beef you're eating has no intrinsic value for me.

It only has value if I can trust it to feed me - under my own terms of what food means.

Exchangable and widely accepted as exchangable is difference. Everything is excvhangable under right conditions. Almost nothing is universaly exchangable.

I'm not talking about exchangeable here, that's a different characteristic of money, I'm talking simply about value. My point is that value is a byproduct of trust, overwhelmingly.

Well, you are in that sentance.

Food, as an exchangeable value, has wildly varying value.

If the person is dying of hunger, that food is extremely valuable.
If the person just ate a seven course meal, you might not be able to give away the food.

And this is even more apparent on a macro scale.
Where, in modern times, mountains of wheat rot.
But, during the potatoe famine, there wasn't enough good potatoes at any price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61081.21
ETH 2406.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64