You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minimalism and and happiness

in #money7 years ago

I've been dealing with depression my whole life and having many of the same feelings as you do. I started being a minimalist without even knowing honestly. I was sick of making more money at jobs and then to have nothing left after buying stuff I won't use. I also feel its silly for you to just throw things away when others could have used it. Had roommates are some of the worst wasters. Wouldn't buy hundreds of dollars of grocery and would end up throw 80% of I think away. My mother clean the wealthy people's homes and nannied heir children. She also mentioned like you did that their budget seemed as tight as ours. My father would buy some much stuff and never used it. He was like a dragon who guarded his gold and would breath fire on us if you we played with those things. He could've been on horders, just a total waste. He isn't now dieinand refuses to try sell anything but instead to buy more. Ones trash is someone's treasure. I lived in my mazda 323 1990 when I was 17, like you did in your Saturn. I too didn't mind it at all actually it was some of the best times. Now I live in a room where I can look around it and could do away with most, though there's not much now I be reducing my materialistic tendency. Minimalism is good. I've been working on my health and relearning how to be happy. Eating right is very important. I been fasting and meditateing. I found steemit and now I found you. New follow and resteemed his post btw. I really feel I needed to read your story and vicariously live through your experience. Really brought back some memories I thought I had lost. I wish you happiness. Love RMars

Sort:  

Thank you for the wonderful reply. Freedom is what you make of it and sometimes you have to step out of the mindset of what society tells you to be. You do not need stuff to be someone. I do like my car because wheels are freedom to me. I like to move and not stay put and that to me means so much more. I am glad I have steemit so I can connect with others who feel the same. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67