The monetization aspect needs to take a backseat before it ruins steem!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #monetization8 years ago

Ok folks, newcomer's perspective:
I came here hoping to find lots of thoughtful blog posts, digest some interesting ideas, share a few of my own, and hopefully engage some people in interesting discussion. The discussion is something which I crave at times because I live in an intellectual wasteland.

I've found so far that all of those objective can potentially be satisfied here, if your willing to dredge your way through all of the nonsense to find it. Most of the material on here stinks of desperation and greed. I get the impression that a lot of people came here with the notion that they were going to jump on the professional blogger gravy train and funds their lifestyle by pumping out post after post of mildly interesting (at best) whimsical drivel.

The obvious problem is that said gravy train is largely illusory. While I am not a professional blogger and cannot speak for this demographic, I would bet all my steem dollars (whatever those are worth) that most of them would confirm this to be true. I would place the blame squarely on the focus toward monetization here. It's just too much.

Let's be honest with ourselves right now. To be fair, most of us really aren't as interesting as we think we are and our ideas probably aren't that original. There are certainly some very good bloggers on here whose material I would love to read while I work my way through my morning pot of coffee. In order to do that, I would first need to be able to find them, preferably without having to search through a seemingly endless flood of mindless drivel.

If you've bothered to follow my train of thought this far, you're probably thinking 'why don't you just follow the people whose material you want to read?' Well, I noticed that follow function, very useful, once you've found what you're looking for.

I think this site needs to be cleaned up a bit if it's going to offer any long term value to anyone. Right now it mostly resembles a sort of blogging circle jerk. Equality is a popular topic of discussion these days, but the fact is that all ideas are not equal. It's great for everyone to have an outlet here for their ideas, but it's important that the metaphorical cream rises to the top. I would like to come here, read some great blogs, and the rest of us can engage each other in discussion in the comment section below those blogs.

But that's what the upvotes are for right? Ah, yes, well there's the rub, eh? This brings us full circle, to the excessive focus on monetization. There's a peculiar social dynamic on here regarding this voting behavior. You better always upvote your friends, whatever they post, or you're rude. If you take the time to read something, but don't upvote it, you're rude, or selfish, or whatever. You commented on something, but you didn't upvote it? You asshole. Please please please upvote my post. Why does nobody upvote my post? It's not fair! ... And on, and on, ad nauseum. To make all this worse, this behavior seems to be culminating in a sort of cultural revolt against the bloggers who actually do deliver something of value. Whales. That's what you people call them, yes? Really? Because they write stuff that people want to read? How dare they! And as if the fact that they have been able to amass a crowd of interested followers want bad enough, these greedy bastards also don't spend the rest of their day reading everyone else's endlessly redundant blog posts and upvoting them in return. Despicable!

But seriously, this is the culture that is going to kill steem. Steem was a great idea. I was really excited to come check it out. After looking around, however, my assessment is grim. If something doesn't change, I think that this monetization obsessed culture here is going to drive away all of the talent, all of the value, and any decent people who just wanted something interesting to fill the whitespace in their day. What will be left? Well I guess the rest of you can go on with upvoting each other's sketches, poorly composed photography, and rhetorically painful poetry. At least you'll have chased away all those dastardly whales.

I don't want to end this on such a down note, so...

Let's stop obsessing over this monetization nonsense. Just appreciate what's good, and hopefully engage in some intelligent discussion that might help us grow as human beings. How does that sound?

Sort:  

I agree with you a lil bit. But here's another perspective. Here's my perspective. In regards to what you said about monetization mostly and people just trying to make money. I have noticed a bit of that, that is unpleasant. Though.. When I think about what people post on Facebook.. It's very similar, and there is no monetary gain. Unless perhaps you have some kind of small business or something. But in a general sense anyways.

So far, in regards to good conversations.. And just feedback in general.. I feel like it's a step up from Facebook in general as well. So I don't really have these complaints.

I mostly wish they'd fix the bugs that prevent me from posting a lot and add profile pictures and things like that, but I imagine that will come in time if steemit survives for a while.

Right now I'm just enjoying reaching a new audience, that tend to be a lil more anarchic minded as well, and.. I'm appreciating making the lil bit of whatever money I might make, even if it's barely nothing.. I never made even 1 cent posting on Facebook.. So.. Yeah..

I'm sure there are some things that can be done to make the system work better and hopefully crop out people who abuse it.. Though so far my experience has been pretty enjoyable outside of the bugs with the interface and such.

And yes.. I post some pretty terrible poetry and photography as well. :) ._.

I would wholeheartedly agree with you that steem, or at least the concept behind it, is a step up from Facebook, et al. This is mainly because I place high value on decentralization, crowd sourcing, spontaneous order, and the free exchange of ideas. I also did not intend to rag on anyone's creative products, but rather to point out that we can't all be rockstar artists, and some on here could stand to reflect on humility. I just think that the monetization aspect should not be the primary focus here. I was thinking last night however that the issue may sort itself out. The problem steem has been having with user retention may not actually be a problem, but rather the phenomenon of people coming here for the wrong reasons, and subsequently leaving after they realized that they came here for the wrong reasons. Only time will tell if this kind of attrition is taking place and what effect it will have on the community.

I also think that if I'm going to swipe-type posts from my mobile device, that I should probably take the time to proof read them before I tap that post button. ;)

Once upon a time there was a Social Media Network names Tsu (pronounced Sue).
It suffered from the same malady.
It died a lingering death.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67