Why I'm Selling some of my Bitcoin for these 5 Altcoins

in #monero7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers,

Since I found out about bitcoin in August 2014, I've been slowly and steadily increasing my long position. Over the past year, I also started purchasing Ether and Litecoin — all for long positions, as I believe in the longterm growth and sustainability of cryptos, especially in respect to the underlying blockchain technology, which will revolutionize sectors way beyond finance.

However! Over the past few weeks, I started to take more of a macroeconomic look at the entire crypto landscape. I do believe that a single bitcoin will be worth at least $100,000 within several years, then at least $1MM later down the line. But, for me at least, I no longer think it the safest bet only to rely on bitcoin, especially if you believe in the general movement of digital assets, as they relate to the medical, university, business, etc. industries.

So this is why I started selling a bit of my bitcoin to strategically diversify into certain alt coins. Below, I'll briefly explain why I invest in:

Factum
The ability to store and decentralize data of mortgages and sensitive documents is precisely what's needed in this world of bank corruption. If we've learned anything for the 2008 Housing Crash, it's that we have to take protecting data into our own hands, and store documents in a way that, without a question, proves ownership and validates payments.

Game Credits
I like this token because it immediately gets you a piece of the $90M+ dollars exchanged into games every year. You know, all the people selling digital items across popular games. This crypto is seeking to facilitate these transactions. If it can take only a sliver from the current marketplace, we could see big gains.

Steem
If you're reading this, then no further explanation is necessary to show the benefits of investing in a currency that's tied to the first decentralized social media platform. Owning steem crypto means you believe in the power of community and decentralized control of content.

Monero
This is an interesting coin because it focuses exclusively on anonymity of transactions. This technology will come in handy, especially when companies get more serious with building systems to track and identify transactions on the blockchain. Monero is making great strides in the sector, especially in the way they break up your payments across various intermediaries that facilitate the transfer.

Ripple
Because let's face it: the banks and Visa aren't going to fail. They are going to EVOLVE. And that's fine with me. No need to wish their demise, albeit some may really deserve it. I'm more focused on the future than the past. As that's where Ripple comes into play, as they'll be helping banks save a ton of money all while selling them XMR, which, should, increase their value. Sure, the risk is that Ripple may unload their own coins onto the market (currently holding $55B, I believe), but to do a move like that wouldn't make sense for the entire system they're attempting to create. So, for me, it's worth the risk.

As always, this post is for educational purposes only and you should do you own research before investing. But if you're ready to get started, I recommend Coinbase (http://bit.ly/matecoin) as a good cryptobank.

Enjoy!
Dave

Sort:  

currently im betting on XEM and steem! what do you think of those?

I think STEEM has a lot of potential, but the limit with it is that is can't be traded across other social media platforms, such as redcoin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67