From the Monday Steem Desk, June 26th, 2017: Tokyo Time!/Tomorrow's VJ LIVE!/ Why is Your Heart Beating?

in #mondaysteemdesk7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1920.JPG

Well, Steemians, it's great to see you once again, on yet another fabulous and voluntary Monday. Today we'll talk cryptocurrency in Tokyo, an exciting VJ LIVE! panel show tomorrow night, and the meaning of life. You know, totally normal, run-of-the-mill small stuff....

THIS IS the Monday Steem Desk from Tully's Coffee, Toyanogata, Niigata City Japan!

LET'S GO!!!
(Current Steem price at coincap.io: $2.01)

IMG_1362.JPG

IMG_1901.JPG

Tokyo Town.


Friday evening I will be taking the bullet train "down to the big city," to hunt some geo-cached crypto using the Takara app, and to buy a brand-new Voluntary Japan Mac laptop computer using Bitcoin at BIC CAMERA, a retailer in Tokyo currently accepting BTC as payment!

If any fellow Steem-Os are in Tokyo and would like to meet up for a quick beer, let me know. Don't have much time, but if we can slam a cold one and exchange Steemy high fives (that actually sounds kind of gross:/), that would be great!

I'll be making a video while down there, so be sure to stay tuned for that.

IMG_1853.JPG

Tomorrow's VJ LIVE!


Super pumped about this one. I'll be joined by @boxcarblue, @musingsltd, and @rawselectmusic to talk Steem, blog styles, tips and tricks, and what cryptocurrency and Steemit means to them. Be sure to join the YouTube LIVE CHAT by clicking on the link below Tuesday, June 27th, @ 11:00 PM JST (Japan Standard Time)!

FOR A COMPLETE DESCRIPTION OF THE SHOW, PLEASE CHECK THIS POST.

IMG_1921.JPG

Why is your heart beating?


Sometimes I have this thought, and it does disturb me a bit. This little ball of muscles in your chest, powered by electricity from your body, is pumping all the time--in your sleep, while you talk, while you work, while you play, when you're worried, when you're sad. When you succeed. When you're happy. When you fail.

Somehow the thought hits me how fragile the whole thing seems to be. When will it stop? How much more time do we have? What am I doing to really make the most of these heartbeats?????? CAN YOU FEEL ME!?!?!?

HOLY FUCK IT'S TRIPPY. IT'S happening. Right...NOW.

When the disturbing nature of these thoughts fades, I find a newfound gratitude for being alive. This disturbing meditation is a weird blessing of sorts. No, I do not know how many more "beats" I get, but I do know now I can more easily let go of tiny (and even not so tiny) problems and concerns that had heretofore been "eating up my emotional bandwidth," and get on with being me, and living life more happily.

Why? Shit. What else can I do? What does the small stuff matter when we realize how precious each and every moment is, and that we are here right now!?

I really hope each of you can feel this and keep this in the back of your mind this week, as you interact, work, eat, sleep, play, and whatever else it may be that you find yourself engaged with in the present moment.

For me, at least (as someone who can tend to fret and worry), These "disturbing thoughts," are an excellent tool.

Peace, and may each heartbeat throughout this voluntary week bring you joy.

~KafkA

(Here's last week's Steem Desk, by the way, in case you missed it.)

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Happy Monday to you and all my steemit family, wish you all a blessed week. Good to hear how things are goin in Japan (Tokyo) the land of Crypto´s especially move towards video. Upvoted and following you in order to stay in touch and send in my support. Will always tune in. More success.

Happy monday! seeing u in tomorrow's VJ live!

It is wonderful to hear how things are going in Japan today. Great place, awesome people, legendary culture and may I say one of the country that early adapted the cryptocurrency mainstream usage.
I love how Bic has accepted BTC and made it a widely accepted currency there. May you have productive and enjoyable meet up with fellow steemians in the area. Enjoy!

Happy Monday! I hope you have a good week!

Tokyo looks amazing. I enjoy your posts! @jbcoin

my last trip to japan was 2 years ago . it was a new experience of culture and tradition although it become similar to to west in past 20 years .

Happy Monday and have a wonderful, blessed and prosperous week :D

Happy Monday. I want to visit Tokyo one day.

What is it like to go on a bullet train?
I've never had the opportunity to go on one haha

Happy monday @kafkanarchy84
I hope you enjoy your trip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41