RedSky Monday Mixtape Vol2

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

My second Monday Mixtape goes a little all over stylistically. Old stuff, new stuff, blue stuff, nothing borrowed but I may save that and post some of my favorite cover versions next time round.

SUFJAN STEVENS Fourth of July


I've been a Sufjan fan since first hearing his Illinoise album back in 2005. His latest album Carrie and Lowell explores themes of loss after the death of his sometimes absent mother. Fourth of July has a beautiful, insistent and melancholic chord sequence that draws you in and doesn't let go.

I AM KLOOT Over My Shoulder


I Am Kloot are moderately popular but in my opinion one of most underrated bands of the last 20 years. I first discovered them seeing them live touring as a opening act in 2001. Their songs had an immediacy and their musicianship and tightness live stood out. The scope and depth of their sound for a three piece band was impressive.
John Bramwell's songwriting is understated and emotional and the lyrics border poetic without being inaccessible. Unfortunately they announced they split late last year. Well worth checking Bramwell's solo stuff also.

JAMES BLAKE My Willing Heart


James Blake is one of those artists it is hard to pigeonhole. You never know quite where he will go next but his production is always top notch. This track from last year is a bit more a conventional soulful pop vibe than his recent track "If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead" which you should also check out. Blake's voice is unique and liquid whether he is using it conventionally or chopping and manipulating it in some new and strange way. Always fresh.

LITTLE DRAGON High


Little Dragon have been around for over 20 years. They always manage to pull off a sound that is rich, retro and modern all at once. Yukimi Nagano's unique voice perfectly complements the electro soul underpinnings of her bandmates.

BELL X1 In Every Sunflower


Bell x1 have a big following in their native Ireland but are certainly not a household name further afield. They have had their music placed on various TV shows like Greys Anatomy and The OC which thankfully helped bring them to a wider audience. This soft epic is one of my favorite tracks by them (Or by anyone for that matter).

Sort:  

First time hearing about these guys. Sufjan's music is chilling. Both Sufjan and I Am Kroot are top notch quality music!

Hey @redskylullaby, don't forget to send me your bitshares information, so I can send you the rest of your prize.

I just realized I accidentaly must have deleted 3 tracks off the end of this post either before i posted or when i edited a tag. Anyway post is bit more substantial now

@scuzzy thanks, I just sent my bitshares info via dischord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Red Sky Lullaby from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42