Red Sky Monday Mixtape Vol4 -Languages?

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Tonight I was in the mood for some non English language music. I am someone who focuses more on the music than the lyrics of a song most of the time. More often I think I hear the emotion and nuance in the vocal more than the lyrics even when they are in my native tongue so maybe understanding what is being sung is not essential for me. Anyway for my fourth #mondaymixtape I decided to go with music I have loved over the years that is in a language other than English. Enjoy.
IMG_1764.JPG

S.E. ROGIE - Koneh Pelawoe


S.E. Rogie hailed from Sierra Leone, his voice is so unique and silky it grabbed me at once. I think I first heard this song 20 years ago and it has always been a favorite ever since even though I have no real comprehension of the lyrics, though I believe it is a love song. Rogie also lived in played in the USA and UK at various times. He was recognized by US Congress for cultural/educational work and played for the Queen. No longer with us but his music lives on.

SERGIO MENDEZ AND BRAZIL 66 - Mas Que Nada


Most likely you have heard this earworm even if you did not know what it was. This was recorded in 1966 and produced by Herb Alpert but is actually a cover version and originally written by Jorge Ben Jor. I dare you not to feel a little warmer and more cheery after listening to this.

SIGUR ROS - Glosoli


Icelandic post rock band Sigur Ros have a beautiful and immense sound. This song is in Icelandic but many of the bands songs also feature their own made up lyrical but non-language some coined Vonlenska (English translation: Hopelandic). Sigur Ros featured in a Cameo appearance on The Simpsons and also have done music featured in Game of Thrones and Black Mirror. Video for this one is worth watching to the end.

TINA SANI - Akhan Cham Cham Wassiyan


Tina Sani is not widely known outside her native Pakistan, she was a guest judge of Pakistani Idol. Her voice is quite ethereal and although I don't understand the lyrics I believe many of her song lyrics are basically sung versions of classical Urdu poetry.

MADELEINE PEYROUX - La Vie En Rose


Much of Madeleine Peyroux's musical output has been in English but hear she delivers a cover of a French classic originally a hit for Edith Piaf in the 1940's. The song was also covered by Bing Crosby, Louis Armstrong and Grace Jones over the years.

Hope you enjoyed this little musical excursion. See you soon.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Red Sky Lullaby from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80