MONDAY MIXTAPE #10 - Favourite Songs For The Week!

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

#mondaymixtape (3).png


I started a new tag:
#mondaymixtape


Quick rules for anyone who wants to participate in the #MondayMixtape tag:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

I shall do my best to Upvote all #mondaymixtape posts 😇

I think is a great way for everyone to discover new music!


So without further ado, my 5 picks for this week:

1. Nothing More – Don't Stop feat. Jacoby Shaddix

I came across this band while watching this video by the Ten Seconds Songs guy. He talks about his thoughts on 'why rock is dead'. Some really great insights in that video, you must watch.

In the video, he talks about why he likes this band "Nothing More". They are a rock band who sound like they belong in 2018 and have "second-to-none" live shows.

This was enough to peak my interest and I immediately googled the band. This was the first song that came up and I loved it! What powerful vocals – they really hit you! The thing about all your favourite rock bands of the 70s and 80s is that everything there was real – no autotunes, no quantizations – raw power and emotion which came from within. They practised till they were super tight and everyone in the band gave it their best.

I felt that in this song. I saw a few videos of their live performances as they have the same energy. (You gotta check this video. It is a big Transformers type looking machine which plays something that sounds like a cross between Rock and Dubstep – RockStep?)

Also - bodygoals.


2. Damien Rice – Cheers Darlin'

Speaking of real emotions and real performances – this is something you just gotta see! I shared this link with @muziclub students a few days back. The song I had heard a long time back. Damien Rice is one of my favourite songwriters.

This live performance is one of his best I would say. It starts so innocently with this great performance technique of calling someone on stage and actually telling a story while finishing a whole bottle of wine. He really gets drunk on stage! And then the emotions and music flow through him. You can feel his pain and sadness. And when that cello hits, and if you've ever been through a heartbreak, you will not be able to stop yourself from crying.


3. Fix You - Coldplay - FUNK cover feat. Monica Martin

There is something about this cover which is so beautiful and cute, I can't stop listening! Monica Martin's voice sounds just muah! and that laugh towards the end is ❤️ The song is super easy on the ears and it feels like it can just go on and on!
Also, the drummer is sick!


4. MISTAVIRUS | Time Goes Up

Let me introduce to you my good friend @mistavirus! I got him onto Steemit but didn't really got onto posting regularly. Regardless he is a super songwriter and produce like this song proves.
Currently he is on a streak, releasing 15 songs in 15 days! Do follow his YouTube channel for more songs which are just as sick!
I really hopes he gets more recognition for his amazing work. I will try and convince him to put all of this up on @dtube and @dsound.


5. MISTAVIRUS | The Cannot Get Enough Song

Let me just throw in another song by @mistavirus for good measure just to convince you. This stuff is no less than a Top 40 pop hit! The song has song has so much "danciness" to it.
Put it on, turn up the volume and let yourself go! 💃🏻


So what is your #mondaymixtape.
You can even post in the comments and let me know.
Or make a post and drop the link the comments!
Have a great week!


♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv


Apply to Join thealliance Family in the Admissions Office


Join the India United Discord Server!

indiaunited.png


Join the Blockchain Musician Discord Server for Indian Musicians and Artists

TBM-footer.gif

Sort:  

Interesting take on Fix you! Slightly unconventional, especially since I've never really imagined a funk cover of this song to work. Monica Martin did great! Mad props to the band too! Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36