My Monday Playlist

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Mondays are often hated. It's like a two-day off is not enough to prepare myself physically and emotionally.

The alarm clock bugs me every five minutes when I snooze it. The sun rays annoy me to open my eyes. I have to get up and get my shit together because work and life will not wait for me to be ready.

Armed with half asleep soul, wobbly knees, and drooping eyelids, I face Mondays like how I face it every single time.

One thing that helps me get through this cute and stressing day of the week is MUSIC. I'm leaving five songs from my playlist to help you also to survive this little monster called Monday.

1.) BLUE SKY by Hale

Hale is a Philippine-based band with hits such as The Day You Said Goodnight, Waltz, and Kung Wala Ka.

One of my favorite songs from this band is entitled Blue sky. As the title suggests, there's always a blue sky that will come for us. There are always good days amidst bad and dark days. If you think of giving up, you have to remember that bad times are just fleeting. I'm so touched with the careful weaving of words and the music just keeps me tuned. PLUS, Champ's soothing voice always make me swoon.

2.) Thank You by Dido

I love singing it on Karaoke but I would definitely play it on Mondays. Yes, Mondays are usually when everything is falling apart but you you get through it sometimes because you have someone whom you can share everything. That someone can ease the heaviness in your heart. Just listen to the lyrics and you'll know what I mean <insert wink>.

3.) Breakfast at Tiffany's by Deep Blue Something

When I think of Mondays, I think of mornings. When I think of mornings, I think of this song! The groove, the sound, and the lyrics of this song makes me forget about the dreadful Monday. Cue in And I said what about Breakfast at Tiffany's? She said I think I remember the film

4.) Hand in my Pocket by Alanis Morissette

From Ironic to this song, Alanis Morissette just did it with her style of singing. I love her and I also love her songs! I think we can all relate to this song. I've included the lyrics so you can appreciate it more:

I'm broke but I'm happy
I'm poor but I'm kind
I'm short but I'm healthy, yeah
I'm high but I'm grounded
I'm sane but I'm overwhelmed
I'm lost but I'm hopeful, baby

And what it all comes down to
Is that everything's gonna be fine, fine, fine
'Cause I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five

I feel drunk but I'm sober
I'm young and I'm underpaid
I'm tired but I'm working, yeah
I care but I'm restless
I'm here but I'm really gone
I'm wrong and I'm sorry baby

And what it all comes down to
Is that everything's gonna be quite alright
'Cause I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is flicking a cigarette

And what it all comes down to
Is that I haven't got it all figured out just yet
'Cause I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a peace sign

I'm free but I'm focused
I'm green but I'm wise
I'm hard but I'm friendly, baby
I'm sad but I'm laughing
I'm brave but I'm chickenshit
I'm sick but I'm pretty, baby

And what it all boils down to
Is that no one's really got it figured out just yet
But I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is playing a piano

And what it all comes down to, my friends,
Is that everything is just fine, fine, fine
'Cause I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is hailing a taxi cab

5.) Loser by Bigbang

I'm a Bigbang stan. It is one of the few KPOP groups that I really like.

Bigbang's got a lot of great songs but the most catchy and deepest is this one - Loser. A lot of people find KPOP songs corny but really, these people don't look at the lyrics and the music. These people judge easily because they can't understand the songs. That is why there are translations available everywhere.

The video that I'm going to post here is the translated lyrics version but I'm also going to include the original music video. In the lyric video, the picture of a specific Bigbang member is emphasized with colors when he is the one singing.

Loser is basically about deep thoughts, emotions and insecuritieds of the Bigbang members. It is noted that pressure and spotlights are on KPOP idols. It can be a source of anxiety or depression. Just recently, one of Shinee's vocals committed suicide and we can't just overlook the possible reasons. In this song, it is quite evident about the realness of what's happening in the entertainment industry or in everybody's everyday lives.

Why am I writing about this sad song? Because apparently, Monday is the most common day for suicide. Let's look for warning signs and let's help prevent this from happening to anyone. Perhaps, relating to and understanding a person's feeling can somehow help.

Lyric Video

Music Video

Sort:  

Thank you for participating in a tag that I started #mondaymixtape
I get to discover new music every Monday and that actually makes to look forward to them! 😊
I love Dido's acoustic performances and love the one you have posted. The song used in Eminem's Stan still haunts me every time I listen to it.
And I will surely check out this Kpop song.
Thank you for spreading new music!

Thank you for intiating this tag. I believe many will participate since music is a universal language. <3 Will be spreading more, soon.

It was the first time I heard Breakfast at Tiffany's!!! Thank you for introducing this! I am excited to see your entries for next week! :)

Yay! I will be sharing more songs next week

First four are nostalgic! Hehehe. Tatak batang 90s!

Hehe. Napaghahalataan :'D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48