Monday Mixtape: June 11

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Monday Mixtape June 11.jpg

HELLO!!

Yes, I am still alive and, okay, I am fully aware that I haven't been posting here for almost 2 months. This unannounced hiatus was largely because I needed to direct all my attention towards surviving in my last semester in graduate school. Long story, really sorry! In a nutshell: I survived. But I guess that story will have to be documented in another post.

For now, I hope to continue contributing to the #mondaymixtape tag by sharing to you five tracks that have been a huge help in my survival in graduate school for the past few months leading to the finals week.

Some guidelines as you participate in the #mondaymixtape conversation:

Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag

  1. Post links to 5 songs you like
  2. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

1. Mac Quayle - Mr. Robot "1.3_5-da3monsneverstop caf"

Mr. Robot is one of the TV series that I have mad respect for. The cast, the storyline, the script, cinematography, and the musical scores...man, I won't be surprised if only a few people dislike this show. The genius Mac Quayle provides most of the musical scores for the TV series Mr. Robot and as expected, he has done a marvelous job of weaving the emotions and feels that the scenes require. Mac Quayle's Mr. Robot scores are what I usually use for when I am nearing my deadline and I am far from done (hehe!). The adrenaline that the tracks are trying to induce is perfect for emphasizing the urgency of what I am doing. So far, the Mr. Robot playlist has ensured my laser-sharp focus in beating a deadline. I hope it does wonders to you too.

2. Sleeping At Last - Moon

I have discovered Sleeping At Last, I think, 2 years ago and since then, Sleeping At Last's instrumental tracks have always been my go-to playlist when I need to...well, sleep...or when I need to focus. Sleeping At Last is actually a musical project by singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Ryan O'Neal. Besides the neat arrangements, I also like how Sleeping At Last would choose titles for the tracks. A look at Sleeping At Last's artist page on Spotify have produced "themed" tracks, if you will, such as tracks related to space & astronomy, Christmas, and emotions. While I am crazy about Sleeping At Last's tracks, I am obviously most crazy about the space-themed tracks such as Moon. I don't know if it's a psychological thing, but I love how the titles would low-key shape your feelings and understanding as you listen to this song. Moon, in particular, is a track that makes me want to gaze at the moon for hours, which I find really relaxing. Idk, I don't think I've explained it quite well but, I guess you will need to check out Sleeping at Last to understand what I am talking about. At some point, I became too familiar with the space-themed tracks so much that I have already memorized how each track sounded like, so when I found that Sleeping At Last has released a bunch of new tracks recently, I immediately had to go and have a listen! I am glad that Sleeping At Last still makes music, and I hope he doesn't ever stop.

3. Han Ji Soo - Round and Round (Goblin OST)


I did not really consider myself a huge fan of Korean dramas (K-dramas) but recently, I can say that my appreciation for K-dramas have been drastically increasing ever since I watched my first K-drama. The production of today's k-dramas have really upped their game, from the cast, cinematography, and the OST. It's really difficult to ignore how brilliant the Koreans are! I'd probably write about this appreciation sometime soon but for now, I can tell you that if you wish to understand why K-dramas have been all the rave these days, I suggest you try watching Descendants of the Sun, Goblin, and A Korean Odyssey (Hwayugi).

Round and Round is from the Goblin OST and is usually played during fight scenes or scenes with enough tension. This song is easily one of the songs that define the Goblin drama and I think it is so-brilliantly arranged to evoke just the right combination of emotions (as the rest of the tracks in the OST, so go, listen!). Although, listen to this at your own risk, especially when you have already watched the series and have memorized every scene that uses this musical score. May not be helpful when you need to be 100% focused, since the track will definitely stimulate your memories.

4. Bumkey - When I saw you (A Korean Odyssey OST)


Unfortunately, I have discovered A Korean Odyssey when I was about to enter our finals week in graduate school so you can imagine how much of struggle it was for me to focus on studying when I know that there were new A Korean Odyssey episodes waiting for me to appreciate. However, listening to A Korean Odyssey's OST have helped me to stay motivated to finish every requirement in school, because I know that the hard work will pay off (and I can finally go back to watching...without guilt!). Bumkey's When I saw you is probably the most famous track out of all the songs in A Korean Odyssey's playlist, especially since (spoiler alert!!!) this was the song that played when the male lead and female lead saw each other again after years. You will have to watch the series to know how massive this scene was and how fitting Bumkey's When I saw you is to the scene. Although I have to admit, there also times that listening to the OST have made me more tempted to watch, rather than stay motivated hehe. So, watch at your own risk!

5. Hillsong Young and Free - PEACE

The past few months have been really difficult for me. My family and I have been going through a challenging season that has been going on for the longest time and has affected each of us and our relationships with each other. Tasks at work have been piling up and recently, I haven't been satisfied with what I am doing at work. It was the last semester of my last year in graduate school and...well, where do I even start? It was such a scary rollercoaster ride that, for many times, I have been tempted to drop everything and just curse God and what He allowed to happen. That was the easier route, and to choose to worship despite the trials is probably one of the most difficult things I have ever have to do. I am just so glad that God has always been so patient with my stubbornness, and the past few months make up for a solid testimony of God's goodness in my life this season.

Every line of this song is so beautifully-written as it captures the reality of God's peace despite how real our circumstances are. This song is so loaded with so much truths that every time I listen to this song, I am led to run back to God and His Word and I find peace. I don't know how many times I've cried or wanted to cry (since, I have this mindset that crying takes time and I couldn't afford losing time) these past few months. I've lost track of all the times I wanted to give up. But thankfully, God speaks through songs such as this song. don't tak emy word for it, go and listen to it too and be reminded that peace is a promise that God keeps. :)

P.S. I recently found out that there was a huge controversy involving the "official" music video that Hillsong released for this song. I have never watched said music video since I could no longer find the music video on Youtube or on any platform, so I couldn't really have an opinion on it.

I hope these tracks will be able to help you the next time you need focus. :)

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22