Monday Mixtape: April 16

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Monday Mixtape April 16.png

Hello there!

I am so excited to share my #mondaymixtape for the week because this will largely be influenced by what happened to me last weekend!

Last Saturday, I went to see The Script live at the Mall of Asia (MOA) Arena. I will be posting about the concert in detail next time but for now, let me just say that in a nutshell, this weekend was a reminder of why The Script is awesome. Like I said, I'll elaborate on this soon.

It was my first time to see them live and now, I have just confirmed why I think The Script is one of my favorite bands ever. Here's this week's mixtape to prove it.

Some guidelines as you participate in the #mondaymixtape conversation:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

1. The Script - Breakeven


I guess Breakeven is one of The Script's songs that really propelled them to popularity. I was in high school when The Script released Breakeven and back then, I already found it to be something I'd like for a long time. True enough, after almost a decade, Breakeven is still one of my favorite The Script songs to listen to. While there was a season that this song got overplayed over the radio, I still think it's one of those songs that one would always go back to when looking for good music. Maybe because I've already felt what this song was describing, it was only recently when I fully began to appreciate this song's lyrics. Let me make a bold statement now: this is one of The Script's songs that is written beyond beautifully.

2. The Script - Before the Worst


I think this is one of the underrated songs of The Script. I've always loved how The Script would start their songs. I am amazed at how they would make the first few seconds of their song so distinct that, when you have been a fan for so long, you'd manage to predict right then and there what the song's "feels" would be. Interestingly, the first time I heard this song, I was surprised that the verse would be eventually be almost a rap piece, which was different from the almost-ballad-sounding piano instrumental that the song started with. I guess that's really nice, to be surprised and be taken out of your comfort zone, only to be reminded that the deviation was worth it. Lyrically, this song also has its merits. This song's various live versions are great to listen to as well. This may be my unofficial second favorite The Script song.

(Just kidding, it's really hard to choose, to be honest. So I'd rather not choose? Haha.)

3. The Script - Superheroes


This song is from The Script's fourth album, "No Sound Without Silence" and this was their first song off their setlist to kick off the Manila leg of their Freedom Child Album Tour last Saturday. It was such an awesome start, and it made me appreciate this song even more. However, I guess the main reason why I have chosen to include this song in this mixtape is because I have found the music video to be really inspiring. You must know that I've always liked listening to live versions of songs because live versions make me feel like I am there at that moment with the audience too. But this song's music video is too beautiful not to share, so for this song, I am going to make an exception and go on to share the official music video. Don't just take my word for it. Go, watch it! And you'll see why The Script is one inspiring band after all.

4. The Script - Paint the Town Green


As it may have already been obvious from the song's title, this song is a nod to the band's roots. Hailing from Ireland, The Script has written this song that talks about their fellow Irish who may be missing home. To be honest, I've never really listened to this song that much before, since I felt disconnected to it. But when The Script performed this last Saturday, surprisingly, I felt connected and I felt right at home (well, I am, since we were in Manila haha). I am ashamed that I didn't see past what I thought was cultural differences and, therefore, failing to see how beautiful this song actually is. So sorry about that. But, looking back, Paint The Town Green was actually one of my favorite performances during their concert. It was so festive, and surprisingly, so inclusive that I am humbled to the core.

I would've wanted to show you a live version of this, so you could understand a bit more what I've just said. But I couldn't find a decent recording of this song live. Let me know if you find one, ok? For now, I'll be sharing to you the song's official audio.

5. The Script - Nothing


This is my favorite The Script song. Its lyrical brilliance is something I am so crazy about!!!! When I heard this song's intro during the concert, I LITERALLY went insane! There are videos that prove this!! Haha!!!! Back in 2014, I felt how painfully real this song's lyrics are and for sometime, I tried to stay away from this song when it comes on. Yes, it was that painful, and this song was so successful in triggering that feeling. Fast forward to the present time, while I still remember how much it hurts when I'd hear this song, at least I am now able to listen to this song without breaking down. That is just how crazy awesome this song is! Props to the band for writing this masterpiece!


Their latest album, Freedom Child, is out now! The album has very promising songs and some of my favorites include Arms Open, Wonders, Written in the Scars, Rain, and Make Up. I wasn't able to include these songs in the mixtape anymore, but feel free to listen to these on Youtube or Spotify!

Have fun!

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22