My mom (age 62) sits in the house all day and watches TV. How do I explain to her this isn’t healthy for someone her age?

in #mom2 years ago

As someone of a similar age, I can answer you several ways.

if her bills are paid, and the house is clean, and she’s not depressed, MYOB. She’s earned the right to do nothing. I would love to spend my days watching Mannix and Rat Patrol reruns. But I can’t. Lucky mom.

if she is depressed, then tell her (don’t ask her) that you and she are going to lunch. Pay for the meal. Talk about her. Maybe she’s grieving. Maybe her friends are slowly dying. Maybe YOU haven’t gotten as far as she would have liked you to get, and she blames herself.

There is the possibility that she is dying, and feels she has no one to talk to.

I’m hoping that it’s #1. while I agree with you, in theory, that it’s not healthy to stay indoors all the time regardless of age, your mom is an adult. She is living her own life.

Sort:  

This is a one-time notice from SCHOOL OF MINNOWS, a free value added service on steem.
Getting started on steem can be super hard on these social platforms 😪 but luckily there is some communities that help support the little guy 😊, you might like school of minnows, we join forces with lots of other small accounts to help each other grow!
Finally a good curation trail that helps its users achieve rapid growth, its fun on a bun! check it out. https://plu.sh/altlan/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64