Standby Chronicles

in #mom6 years ago

Being a Flight Attendant is all fun and games till you’re trying to fly back home or anywhere on standby, and you keep getting rolled over to the next flight...because flight’s full!
2301E396-4D87-418F-B029-30EE7743C0CC.jpeg

As you guys may or may not know, as a flight attendant, I get to travel free domestic, and with very little tax fees applied to international. This only pertains to flying on my own time.

On Thursday, I had to make my way down to Dallas, Tx for recurrent training. As I am required to attend training for 2 days out of the year annually. The point of this is to get recertified and updated on whatever rules and procedures have changed. When you’re sent out to training, the company secures you a seat there and back.

Because I was finished with training earlier than expected, I ran to the airport trying to get on the earliest flight possible on standby. Rather than waiting 3hours for the flight I had a secure seat for.

Oh the trouble I ran into trying to get on one of the 2 flights! All I thought about was running right home to my baby boy. FaceTime isn’t the same as physical contact...but I’ll take it anyway. Okay, getting sidetracked...back to my standby chronicles. I got to the gate about 30 mins before the flight departed and I waited around to see if by any chance I’d be getting on. Meanwhile I took a glance at the standby list and my name was literally #25. On a full flight, there was no way I’d be getting on. By this time I was rolled over to the following flight, and AGAIN. Same thing happens. I lost hope of getting on that flight, took a seat at the gate,whipped out a blanket, my manual breast pump, and started pumping away (I’m a Breastfeeding mom). Thankfully I had a secure seat on the next flight. But all I wanted to do was get home before the sun went down and have more time with my son.

Eventually I got home...10 hours later...just kidding. Even though my son was asleep and it was night time, I couldn’t wait till he got up for his next feeding time. There’s that big sense of comfort to know that when I get home from being away for days, Evien is still able to latch on my breast and nurse away. It is truly the best feeling in the world!

Want to know about my breast feeding journey as a flight attendant mom? Stay tuned! Talk to ya later steemers xoxo

Sort:  

The struggles of a hard working mama. Your doing a great job though.

Thank You my love

Must be hard to have to spend time away from your baby boy. I cant imagine the feeling of wanting to go home and having your flight delayed!! But its okay, you love what you do.

Yes! Best feeling in the world is coming home to my bebe, after a trip<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38