31 Days of Horror: Child's Play (1988)

in #moives7 years ago

Child's Play (1988)
Directed by Tom Holland

IMG_4114.JPG

Plot: All Andy wanted for his birthday is a 'Good Guy Doll'- the hottest toy money can buy. Well he got much now then he bargained for when it's revealed that his doll is possessed by a deranged serial killer. Andy and his mother have to fight for their lives in order to keep the doll from taking over Andy's soul.

Reflection: While written out plainly, this plot seems kind of silly by anyone's standards, but the doll effects and tension building is so well-crafted that this movie serves us a real quality horror experience. It taps into an irrational fear you didn't know you had and turns it into something fun. Child's Play is an amazing entry point for anyone that wants to break into the genre.

I chose this as my first submission in my horror challenge because this is what scared me most when I was a child. Like.. haunted my dreams for years.

IMG_4108.JPG

Further Viewing: Child's Play 2, Child's Play 3, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Dolls

IMG_4115.GIF

Sort:  

Although my nephew was born the year after it was released he knew the series because it would play on cable throughout his childhood and he was scared to death of Chucky. I'm really tempted buckle up Chucky doll in the back seat of his car.

My grandmother literally put a chucky doll in my room when I was a teenager. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64