My modeling experience and networking tips

in #model7 years ago

I tend to be more into the creative arts than most people I meet in my area of PA. I have a Bachelor Degree in Music, and also love theatre. After only doing it for a few years, I have decided I also really like modeling. I feel like it gives me another creative outlet where I have an opportunity to portray a character as much as I do when I am actually acting in a role on stage or on film. I also like fashion, so it gives me a chance to style myself in ways I would like to try (or style outfits based on the photographer’s ideas).
jillian-color-10.jpg

10.jpg

DSC_4742 (2).jpg

When I was first thinking about starting a blog, I originally intended it to be mostly about Massage Therapy and Wellness. As I researched and learned more about blogging, I realized a Lifestyle blog that could pull together all I do in life would be best for me to at least start out with. I also discovered the fun (at least for me) of social media and promotional marketing, and have been practicing with the tools needed to participate. This includes taking photos with products, and using my modeling connections and experience for something useful. Eventually, I would like to represent a few more brands, but for now dipping into photography and trying out some creative ideas for displaying products and clothing while acting as a “social influencer” as an Ambassador for Sand Cloud Towels.
2017-07-30 080.JPG

2017-07-13 082 towelcolor.jpg

If you are interested in modeling I would suggest joining Facebook groups for photography clubs or photographers in your local area. A good start would also be (for those mature and careful on social media) joining a modeling social network. Just like anything else, you do need to keep promoting yourself, communicate well, and cooperate with others. Generally everyone is very friendly and helpful. After only a few years I have a decent list of favorite photographer friends I keep in touch with.
Jillian 2.jpg

Most of the time new models start out "TFP" (time for print) which means you are not getting paid, but usually get free copies of the photos. Most of the photographers I have worked with edit all their photos before sending them to me, and some will even send physical copies. Every once in a while I come across a paid opportunity, but those I have mostly seen on boards or pages for modeling or casting agencies. Keep your eyes open though; you never know where an opportunity might be waiting for you.

jillian-color-12.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I love these words, too.
Keep your eyes open though; you never know where an opportunity might be waiting for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35