How I became a lifedrawing model

in #model8 years ago


About ten years ago, I was a professional life drawing model in art galleries, universities, and studios all over Ontario. I did not have good self-esteem at the time and was hypercritical of my body. However I decided to embark on this very interesting career when I was unemployed and the chance to make really good money presented.

The first place I modelled was for a group of seniors in an old church in Goderich, Ontario. I had no idea what I was doing but the gentle group guided me and from the moment I first dropped my robe, nobody died...nobody had a heart attack, so I figured, this might be alright. From then on, I modelled in the Tom Thompson Art Gallery in Owen Sound, The Southampton Art Gallery, the University of Guelph, Loyalist College, Albert College, a private group of artists in both Belleville and Kingston. I also modelled for sculptures at Loyalist in Belleville.

I always cast a glance over my shoulder to see if I am hanging anywhere in galleries or art shows or people's homes. :) As time went on, I would go to museums and study classic poses to offer my artists. I loved hanging out with these special souls who delighted in adding their own touches and I was always fascinated by their individual interpretations of my body. Artistic license at it's finest. I grew more and more comfortable with my own body. Here I was accepted for my curves and if I happened to lose weight, I was met with disappointment by my artists who delighted in vivacious lines. After years of yo yo dieting, this was a welcome bit of news...to be accepted as I was. (I would kill for that figure today...just saying).

I was able to strike a pose and hold it for an hour without moving a muscle. I could even slow my heart rate and breathing. When we broke for cookies and tea, I would throw on my robe and wander around the room looking at everyone's work. Often, the artists would give me their pictures and I still have a collection of them as they remind me of a different time in my life and I am proud I took the first step in a very healing direction. I did model once fully clothed but that was the only time. Sadly, I had to stop modelling after literally getting stuck in a pose and being unable to move. My body locked up. I told the professor he would have to dismiss the class because unlocking my body was not going to be a pretty sight. I still get offers today and perhaps at some point when I am a bit more limbered up, I will return to a career that I loved. Artists don't care how old you are, what you weigh or about anything for that matter. To them, you are an inspirational bowl of fruit.

Sort:  

That is such an inspiring story. I wish you all the best and good luck with coming back to career. The painting is very beautiful.

thank you so much

From an artists perspective, Life Models are a rainbow of beautiful curves and tones! Live your dream, life is short, beautiful story.

Beautiful article !i've done a handful of modeling (for artists and photographers) , and modeling for life painting/ drawing definitely is the most challenging by far! Sitting so still was difficult for me and would always leave me a little sore! But it was always really rewarding to see the paintings/ drawings. How sentimental and what a sweet keepsake to look back on as you age . Thank you so much for sharing <3

You are very welcome. It reminds me of a time when I stepped out of my comfort zone and into courage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72