The current state of Mobile Games

in #mobile7 years ago

I'd like to start by saying I'm pretty into gaming. I am currently 28 years old, and I have played about every console there is (released in the US). I grew up playing on the Nintendo, and Super Nintendo... Duckhunt, Mario, Castlevania, Chrono Trigger and Starfox ruled my young age. I started getting in PC gaming and discovered Warcraft (not that World of Warcraft stuff, the GOOD Warcraft), Starcraft and Diablo. The games were always improving, storylines were clever and you wouldn't think twice about shelling out $60 for a new game.

Fast forward to today and Console and PC Games comes with so many bundles you're not sure what you're even buying. Cell phone games litter the Play/App Store and the majority of them are just cash grabs. You can get a ton of games for free in the market, but everytime you open them you see an ad or its asking for you to become "VIP" for 2.99 a week. The games themselves aren't even offering any real game play, mostly they are auto attack games and sometimes you don't even have to do anything at all. These "idle" games just require you to tap a button every 30minutes. That's not a game, not by any sense of the word of game I have come to know.

I use my cellphone for just about everything and with games being so integrated in my life, having games on my phone wasn't even a thought. I purchased a phone that can deliver on those high power drainers. The games for cell phones have become mind numbing. I miss using my brain to figure out complex puzzles with only a hint of what to do in the save title. I browse the Play Store daily looking for new games, whether it still is in Beta or pre-registration mainly to download and it be a cash grab and instantly deleted.

I have come across a few games out for mobile devices that have sparked my interest. VainGlory, is a 3v3 MOBA (Mobile Online Battle Arena) where you and two other heroes fight another team to win the field. Matches can last from 5-30 minutes. The battles are intense and leave my heart pumping. The graphics are amazing for mobile, and it makes me wonder why more games aren't up to par. You have 3 types of characters, one for defense, two for damage. One hero goes through the Jungle and one goes through the lane with the defense being a support for both characters. It takes some strategy and teamwork to win. I highly recommend it.

Where I feel mobile games lacking is in the RPG department. Here is where you will find cash grabs and auto players and the Pay To Win people. The games are designed for you to HAVE to spend money to even compete. I understand the developers need to make a living, but they could do it with some effort. As currently it's a sad state of affairs.

I hope you enjoyed the read and follow me for more articles on mobile games, cell phones and photography. They will only get better with time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @abcasper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

steemwin.jpg

HOW TO GET IN THE PLAYER-POOL?

(Pay once - play forever - win multiple times !)
All you have to do is sending once 10 SBD to @steemwin for a lifetime daily chance to win!

Click here for more details

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38