You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Very Important Open Letter To Elon Musk - I'd Like to Steal Your Idea

in #mmt6 years ago

UBI, UBW, NIT, a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

In the short term I like your idea, but in the long haul I don't think it's necessary. Once we as a global society get over the idea that everyone needs a job rather than an income we can eliminate most of the crap jobs. Do you think Walmart greeters WANT to be Walmart greeters?

If we all have a basic income that keeps us a little above the poverty line then there are two reasons for us to seek employment, both voluntary.

If you have a hankering to own and drive a Caddilac UBI will never be enough. There are plenty of jobs that still need the human touch which could help you fulfil your dream. "You want fries with that?"

If you have a particular skill and a love of that skill then you may want a specific job. A first-rate mechanic could do worse than NASCAR or F1 pit crew.

On the other hand, maybe you don't need a job but a pastime. Writing open letters to Elon Musk for a few bucks might suit you. Alternatively, you might make jewellery and sell it on eBay.

Of course, if all you want to do is watch daytime tv and eat bonbons, you may. Anything that works for you and doesn't adversely affect anyone else works for me.

I hope you can see what I'm getting at here. You should not need a job. Nobody NEEDS a job.

Okay, enough rant for now. You may all go back to your regularly scheduled program.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Haha yeah for sure, the job we should be focused on right now is reducing the cost to exists, ie self sufficient homes, access to food and water, things of that nature. If you were not endebted to a bottomless pit we call bills then the time you would be working to earn enough money to pay for the electricity or car you cant use while at work, just to come home and dpend a few hours before bed just to repeat the cycle, we all would have more time to be creative and productive. Coloaborate and advance. As it is now, most dont earn enough money to contribute anything of value to anyone but themselves, subjectively.

I’ve been unemployed before and I needed a job. Not just for money or self esteem, but to keep my work visa.

I like the idea of being liberated by automation, but that will only work if the technology isn’t owned by rent seekers - otherwise, we’ll become enslaved to them.

Another outdated idea that will take time to die: borders.

If Mexicans or Guatemalans, say, could live comfortably at home there would be less compulsion to move to the USA. They might, of course, want to come here to be with relatives, or their relatives might go see them. No more coyotes, and the bus services would do better.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68