GSP vacates middleweight title

in #mma7 years ago

GSP vacates middleweight title making Robert Whitaker the new middleweight champion.
GSP stated

"My fight at UFC 217 was one of the greatest nights of my life but I now need to take some time to focus on my health," he wrote. "Out of respect to the athletes and the sport, I don’t want to hold up the division. I will be giving up my belt and once I’m healthy I look forward to working with the UFC to determine what’s next in my career."

You have to respect that. Instead of holding up the division and other athletes he did the admirable thing. He could have held it for atleast a year and played champ but decided to do the right thing.

If GSP does return i believe he will get his weight back down to welterweight and try to regain the belt he vacated when he retired. If successful what a almost perfect career. Would be hard to beat that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12