MLBC Unofficial Winterball World Series Playoffs Game One

in #mlbchampions4 years ago

The playoffs have officially begun!
For the most part, the games in the first round were fairly close, though the higher seeded team did consistently win. Seeing as how there were no surprises, I ran a bunch of test games as well, and did confirm that the away team could win.
A team's luck, and any substitutions they make will likely determine the series.

SUBSTITUTION RULES

Since team changes currently require a bunch of manual work on my part, each team is allowed to make TWO changes. You can select any action from the below list, you can even select the same action twice.

Changes will be due Wednesday, February 19 , at 6PM Eastern.
If you have my email you can send them that way, alternatively you can DM me through discord at ledeir#1181 or post in the comments.
I will try and run game two later that night.

  • Swap a figure. The figure must fill the same position and be minted. Send me a link to the figure so I can load it.
  • Change your Batting Order and/or Relief Pitcher switch inning. Send me an updated list using the player names.
  • Replace your Designated Hitter with a Pitcher (and specify the swap inning).
  • Replace your Relief Pitcher with a Designated Hitter.
  • Revert to a previous team configuration. (Obviously not available this time, but will be doable in the future)

You cannot "bank" these changes for future games. I will specify the number of changes allowed based on how many I have time to implement. Any changes you make will carry over to future games, your team will NOT revert back.


THE GAME ONE RESULTS

This moment you have all been waiting for, seeing how you fared against other player's teams!
Remember, this is a best of three series, so if you lose twice in a row, you are out.
Don't look too deeply into my commentary, its written based off a cursory glance at the game, I did not do a deep dive (yet).


The Averagers VS Boston Bombers

Due to the nature of the team, the Averagers will NOT be changing after any of their games. This gives their opponents a slight advantage, in that they can adapt to better face them. Perhaps some pitching tweaks will be enough to stage a comeback?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OkNrHr1fkLliNSPYk0gj4cRdaHFcexig


Rusty Kuntz VS The KillerSams

The results of this game were clear, the RK trounced the Sams. On the bright side, it let me find an error with the relief pitcher logic. The effective WHIP is broken during the swap inning, but the game was already lost by that point.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1pR-4Utp9Xd6tzSlNnFVGqrpm1qtP2ZLt


Surface2AirMissile VS MoZero

A one point game at the end, MoZero had been dominating up until the relief pitcher took the field. This game may have been decided by a bug. Depending on my bug investigations, I will either increase this to a best of five series, or simply not count game one. The bug WILL be fixed before I run game two for anyone.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cwVctBXfu_6W6pG7V7DMF-bmSiK28HyI


The Reds VS The Unnamed Team

This game was decided by the 5th inning, well before either player swapped their pitchers. I am inclined to accept the results of this game, since the score didn't change much once the pitchers were replaced. If either team objects to this, let me know and I'll consider increasing it to a best in five series.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Cj26k-B3kv27SULWlt-frg8mwjx2nsm9


Moe VS The Code Monkeys

My team, The Code Monkeys, was also impacted by the Relief Pitcher bug, BUT they only gave two extra runs after the switch and were already losing before it. I see no reason to question the results, it was a clean win for team Moe.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=19S3Ok0vFgYPHDpppxmvahEuLFNV6u8sI


Pointshark VS Cards80

Another close game, one in which both teams used a DH so there is no need to question the results. I look forward to game two!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1pDthgjm3Cv3KqN5jTkqC0fPJYzSob9YD


Macho Man Randy Poffo VS Green Iguanas

The Green Iguanas may have been impacted by the pitching bug, but it didn't change the result. Even if the MMRP hadn't scored a single run, they would have still lost. That being said, they almost staged a comeback scoring 7 runs in the last two innings!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kjwxH0n3CwZBejrO0h7sggKzgNt4tirg


San Juan Luke Dogs VS Lacroix Boys

This was a pretty one sided game, Yelich and his 10 RBI was the obvious MVP. The question is, will he perform as well in game two?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qq7C9nAZFBit6pnKwxAjJuL3zihQABtx


Most of the games were fairly close. Unfortunately there looks to be a possibly nasty bug lurking over several game's results. Depending on the cause and impact, I may need to re-run games or increase it to a best of five series.

I'll let everyone know what I decide after fixing the bug and running game two. Feel free to share your thoughts and opinions in the comments and don't forget to send me any team changes. The best way is to DM me in discord at ledeir#1181. Alternatively if there is enough demand I'll put together another google form so people can submit their changes.


As usual, let me know if any links don't work or if you notice anything strange.
Liking and subscribing is certainly welcomed, but don't feel that you have to.

Updates on the Winterball World Series will be posted to medium and steemit. The medium post will usually come sometime after the steemit one.

See you on the field!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60