Mama is Japanese, Papa is Dutch and I'm English.

in #mixed7 years ago

So as I mentioned before, we the family of Biscuits share different native language. I'm born and raised here in Japan, and English is my second language. Mr.Biscuits was raised in Holland, and even though he speaks many language fluently, I think his 1st language is probably Dutch.

We speak to Little Biscuits in English, but we never spoke English as young as Little Biscuits so Little Biscuits speaks more like grown up than 7 years old. Anyways, when the Little Biscuits was 5, he went to summer school in Japan. There he was for the first time asked which nationality he was. We never pushed him to be Dutch or Japanese as he is both and he is not one of them. In the summer school he had to write his nationality which confused him so much. As the other students were Japanese but live in Shanghai, American but he lives in Japan, Little Biscuits figured out what he was, observing the others.

There, he confirmed that; My mother is Japanese. My father is Dutch. And I am English. The teachers there told him that he is not English but they told him he is both Japanese and Dutch. So he now knows that he is not English.

I was so proud of him, when I heard that he was English. It's not about how you look, it's not about where you are born, it's not about your culture nor which passport he owned but for him it was about the language that he felt most comfortable. And it was how he felt about himself.

Now if he is asked, he answers that he has Japanese and Dutch passports and wants Australian passport on top. He knows that passports let you stay in the country but it doesn't tell who he is, and seems like he doesn't really care which one. (Knowing how much fun he has in Hawaii most probably he added US Passport on his wishlist too!)

I would like to talk a bit more about being mixed kids in Japan etc but times up we are expecting guests tonight, need to tidy up a bit more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41