You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working my DREAM JOB, albeit temporarily ~ #minnowuprising #busy

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

I am glad you've found your dream job! I also loving cooking and recently started working in the restaurant industry. I feel like working as a cook is one of the most challenging and rewarding jobs out there. I have learned over the past two years cooking that every other person no matter their experience can always teach you something of value. I always try to be open to advice/instruction from anyone in the kitchen no matter how skilled I feel I am. Do you have any simple advice for a new comer in the industry? Thanks for the post! @intothewild

Sort:  

Hey man, funny, I was just writing on your post.

Although I would consider myself a fairly decent cook without having any professional training, working in a commercial kitchen is a delicate dance. There isn't as much space to maneuver as there is at home. It's tight and communication can be tough, considering I'm not fluent in Spanish.

But I am learning too. I think you have the right mindset. Be open to advice, critical or not. Ask questions (I don't care if I look dumb, my motto is show me once, and I'll replicate it) and ask for specificity. I would hate to get 80% through a recipe for a marinade and then add the wrong amount, or wrong ingredient and mess it all up. Rather be safe than sorry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45