You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Be the change you want to see in the world"

Good job buddy, I don't get out and walk like people who "walk" but I will stop and pick up some trash and dispose of it properly if it happens to catch my eye and I am a foot.
With as much driving as I do I see where a lot of the trash comes from and that would be the beds of the pick up trucks, trash blows out of them all the time and I am sure you probably have seen it too with as many miles you have traveled in the last six or so months. I always take a look in my truck bed each morning when I travel, it seems that truck beds became trash cans for people in hotel parking lots, I wish I had a dollar for every Mc Donald's bag or drink can or cup I have had to remove from there before leaving the parking lot, none of which were mine. The folks I guess just couldn't stand it enough to carry it to the door or to their room to throw it away, damn near every hotel has trash cans near the doors but I guess that is just not as convenient as the bed of my truck. Here in Texas if litter blows out of the bed of your truck you can and will get a ticket for littering if the highway robbers see it happen.

Sort:  

You know I have never thought of that aspect but you are totally right! We live out in the country and people here constantly use their pickup trucks as trash cans. I am sure that some of it isn't intentional at all, but I know that some of it is. If there were more people like you (who check the pickup bed before you drive off) then we could stop a lot of this before it ever gets to the road. It sucks you have to look, but its better than it ending up on the road or with a ticket for something you didn't even do!

Yes, checking the bed of the truck and the body and tires for damages is a normal routine for me in the mornings before I leave the hotel. I am sure a good portion is intentional I have been behind people on the road and see cups and cans go sailing out the windows plenty of times.
This little back and forth just reminded me of something that happened to me back in the early 1980's over in Ocala, FL. when I was there for a horse show. I might have to do a post on that for the blockchain memory project. It is really quite funny of a story.

I always enjoy our convos and your articles, I always try to find time to read them even if i dont leave a comment on all of them..
I will definitely keep my eyes open for your 80s florida story, its funny how old memories just pop up out of the blue because of a certain conversation.. the mind is a beautiful thing..

Well I appreciate that, and the mind truly is as you have stated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39