You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Be the change you want to see in the world"

in #minnowuprising6 years ago (edited)

'Be the change you want to see' is one of the 'rules' I try to live by.

On the trash issue: there used to be a lake not so far away from my house where you could swim, or have a picnic in the grass surrounding it. During weekends in summer, it was always very crowded. So I developed the habit of bringing a couple of bags when I went there on Monday to pick up the huge amount of trash that was left behind. It often took me more than an hour before I got the place cleaned up and could go swimming.

Now, a couple of years later, the entire area is off limits for people. It is so sad, but I can truly understand why they closed it. If everyone would have contributed a little by just taking home their own trash, we would still be swimming there...

Sort:  

I try to live by that rule too.. I wish more people did! I find myself picking up trash at the beach too, which is ridiculous because there are literally trash cans every 100 feet.
Its sad they closed down that beach by you, but the truth is the people who were littering there prolly don't even care that they ruined it for everyone else and thats the problem.. people not caring about anything but themselves. :/

I don't even excpect that they realize it was their own fault.
I can never understand how people just keep on leaving their trash anywhere. I even carry a little ashtray around. You should see the look on people's faces when I take it out to put away my cigarette bud. They look at me like I'm from out of space or something. It's sad, really :0(

So true, no one accepts blame for anything anymore..
I cant understand how people are ok with it either, I often wonder what kind of morals they were raised with..
If I saw you put ur butt in an ashtray u carry around I wouldnt think you are crazy, Id think you are fucking awesome! Like, did we just become best friends!?!? Ha.. 😉

Lol. Glad someone agrees ;0)
Just last week I noticed a friend tossing out his búrning cigarette bud out of the car window. Man, it hasn't rained for wééks. It felt good to yell at someone for once, though. I needed that :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85