Q2 2018 Steemit Experience Report

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

Steemit Collage.jpg

This is my second quarterly report updating about my journey on the #Steemit platform! I originally wanted it to serve as both a request for help to see where I can improve and also a guide to some of the success I have had for those starting on the platform recently. I also think it is a great opportunity to update all the newer users we are full blown into the #minnowuprising initiative this month. I am no way ahead of others on the platform as most of my success has come given my ability to periodically invest in #STEEM and power it up to improve my influence. This has given me the opportunity to continue having earnings to power up my STEEM POWER.

In my second quarter on the platform, I have earned a good amount. In all honesty, It continues to be much more than I would have thought when I started. Although much less than last quarter, I have continued to diversify my earnings into several categories as follows:

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 7.59.07 PM.png

Given that the size of my Steem Power has increased over the minnow level this quarter, I have started to see increased revenue from Curation rewards but unfortunately have not found a way to track them on a quarterly basis other than the snapshot I get from steemworld.org (see below). As I said last quarter, most of my rewards DO NOT come from my blog posts; instead, they come from comments I make on the platform that get upvoted. This demonstrates the importance of actively participating with relevant engagement on quality posts with various content creators.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 7.59.46 PM.png

I have also continued to make periodic purchases of #STEEM to immediately power up. As detailed below, I have invested in over 1,000 #STEEM at an average price of $2.41. Given the price has continued to drop, it has hurt a bit but I truly believe in the long term potential of the ecosystem and what it could mean to the community that remains consistent and engaged. This helped bring my total average cost down as well but still far from the value today. Again, I do not think about short term value as I believe value will continue to be created in the long term given the privileged position #STEEM is in at the crossroads of two hot sectors: blockchain and social media.

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 7.58.29 PM.png

In addition to the purchases, I have taken all of the income generated, except for the SBD earned, and power it up into my STEEM POWER as shown on the this chart:

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 7.58.51 PM.png

The influence gauge has steadily increased as I remain committed to improving the community and supporting the growth of the ecosystem.

An important objective here on the platform are other metrics that determine long term success rather than monetary value. Here is a snapshot of some of these key metrics:

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 8.07.38 PM.png

I am very proud with some of these metrics! I would have never thought that I would have achieved over 500 followers in just six months! Also, my reputation has reached 53 in the same time! It has taken me a full quarter to gain 3 reputation points so one goal I have in the short term is to determine strategies to continue improving that metric. Also, over 1,900 posts is incredible but demonstrates how much engagement I have tried to have on the platform. As stated before, only about 85 of these posts have been my blog post and the rest have been comments. The figures continue to show the importance of engagement around the platform.

It has been a great experience on this platform thus far. It has been a very fulfilling time given the great content creators on the platform. I hope the sense of community continues so that we can continue to leverage its flexibility and ability to improve oneself and help others. In that sense, I would love to hear thoughts from the community on some of the information I have provided here.

What are areas of opportunities for me on this platform? Where can I improve and/or adjust? Are there things I can stop doing? What questions do you have for me on learning about the platform? Is there anything I can do to help the community?

I look forward to your engagement!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

Don’t forget to vote, comment, follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Very interesting @newageinv as I have noted your frequency in Chris' blog. I too have found that blogging here these days, without bidbots, is great for sharing but not for value growth. Many posts are never even seen by followers let alone the broader community.

Good luck on your journey. I will check out minnow booster via your ref link and see if I can help a little.

Resteemed! Interesting to read about your journey on steem.

How did you come across steem? I was doing research on every currency in the top 50 and saw this was one of few with a working product and a real user base who weren't just Crypto enthusiasts!

I bought in at higher prices too but have been buying more as the prices have dropped

Thanks! I was also researching how to diversify some gains I was taking on bigger coins at the beginning of the year. I had also heard a video from @marketingmonk last year that also got me interested. As I read the blogs posted I saw that it was a great community to get opinions and perspectives on as I am the first to recognize that I do not know everything. That was the start of the rabbit hole that is STEEM for me now. I enjoy it very much! Thanks for engaging with me!

I am enjoying watching your journey on Steemit and appreciate the guidance and support after introducing me to it! I hope to continue growing as well.

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Great journal of your journey on steemit. Please update us on your experience with gaining traction on steemit in the future. I too have periodically been buying steem, but have no idea at what my avg. price is as I too have been just reinvesting the rewards back into sp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79