My Analysis of My Participation in the #minnowuprising Initiative

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

pexels-photo-355988.jpeg

I successfully met my main goals during the month of July on the #Steemit platform by actively participating in the #minnowuprising initiative! The initiative, created by @taskmaster4450 in a post in June, asked for smaller accounts classified as minnows and below to increase their activity by posting multiple time per day and supporting those who do using their upvote power for the month of July. The thoughts was to overwhelm the rewards pool in order to distribute more rewards to the smaller accounts which have the numbers over the top 5% of accounts. Unfortunately, as confirmed by @taskmaster4450 himself recently, the initiative did not have the outreach expected nor needed to truly move the balances of influence.

This was the overall view but it differed materially from my results in the last month. I committed to posting at least once daily and to support small accounts with at least 90% of my upvotes. I was able to achieve these two objectives and was very surprised by some of the results. I looked at my recent activities and data points from steemdb.com, and was able to see some important metrics. Here are my activity metrics:

Posting Activity

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 6.20.33 PM.png

Voting Activity

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 6.20.48 PM.png

One metric that I follow is the percentage of upvotes I use on myself compared to other accounts. As I focus only on upvoting my posts and not my comments, I usually am below 5% given that I typically did not post every day. However, as I met my objectives of daily posts this figure increased to around 10% as seen on steemworld.org. However, only a week after the end of July, I am back around my normal metrics:

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 6.32.48 PM.png

In retrospect, I do not think that being at 10% is bad considering the amount of upvotes I am sharing with the community. I also do believe that my content is generally good so I could reward myself for the effort put into my posts. This increase in activity also led to improvement in my account metrics as suggested by @taskmaster4450:

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 6.20.25 PM.png

While my increases in #STEEM that I powered up also increased my account Vests, so did my increased activity and I truly perceived it as I found myself claiming rewards more often during the month. This really raised my awareness to the benefits of actively posting on the platform. While I thought that posting so often would not interest some of my followers and the community. I found that my rewards averaged more than those before July despite the decrease in #STEEM price. I also saw much more engagement via comments than before which really has me proud because it is what I most look forward to when I post. It seems that I have some followers that always stop by to provide feedback and thoughts which is the main reason I started on #Steemit. The knowledge shared is much more valuable to me that the rewards received!

The most surprising fact of the month was the amount of curation rewards received! I had expected to receive less as I had stopped upvoting most of the users that I follow which are dolphins and higher. However, as I had mentioned various times during the month, I found that curation was not actually decreasing:

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 6.20.40 PM.png

As you can see, curation actually increased compared to the prior month! While I expected some slight increases due to the Steem Power acquired, I expected it to be at most comparable to June. When I went into the detail, I saw that my curation rewards went from approximately 5.32 SP in June to about 7.92 SP in July! This represents a 49% increase in one month! I was definitely surprised and excited for this finding as it permits me to worry less about where I allocate my upvotes at. I look at the platform as a long term play of something that could potentially be life changing for many people around the world. However, the only way that could happen is by adoption of the everyday social media user. The only way to influence that growth, outside of technology changes (i.e. hiveminds, easier sign ups, etc.), is to motivate new users looking to add value on the platform with engagement. While it had been difficult to find these in the participants of the #minnowuprising, I found enough to consume enough of my voting power on a daily basis. Now the search begins to find more users to motivate and help grow on the platform as it will ultimately lead to a win/win scenario for smaller users and the platform as well.

I have been and will be taking some time to evaluate my next steps which entails more time on the platform searching for these users as well as learning my way around the ecosystem more. There are many dapps here which I have only seen but not experienced (i.e. dlike, steemauto, steemhunt, steemmonsters, etc.) that I need to dedicate time to because they all add value to the experience. I cannot help if I do not understand them so I will be looking at these closely and of course sharing my experiences. However, please have patience as I also have a job and want to take my time experiencing each in the coming months. My first step will be to make a post of my short term goals before year-end (which I had never set) to help keep me on track. Look for that in the coming days!

I hope that your experience with the @minnowuprising initiative was as eye-opening as mine. If not, I hope that mine would encourage you to look at your time here on #Steemit differently. Please feel free to share your experiences in the comments below or link me your posts sharing them! What are your thoughts of where we can take this as a community? How can we gather the numbers to truly impact the ecosystem? I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comments below!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

Don’t forget to vote, comment, follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Great analysis! I wish the #minnowuprising initiative was a continuing process as I can see the amount of reduced upvotes since it has been over.

If more users cone to realize what this type of support can do for the platform we would not need an initiative, it would be standard.

Hats off to you for trying stuff and working to make Steemit better upvoted

Thanks! I actually enjoyed it! Reading more about different interests was an experience that was great!

Thanks again for your dedication in this regard. Hopefully this will still go viral someday.

Great effort and analysis. Because of you I used minnowuprising several times last week in my post. Again, thanks for bringing the awareness to the platform over the last couple of weeks.

thanks for give us the latest information

outstanding analytical research. pray your every success

@taskmaster4450 is a small account when it comes to reach every minnow on steemit, we need to spread more awareness if we want minnowuprising to work as @taskmaster4450 wanted

I think there are many users heee that have the same interest in supporting minnows and small users but it is very segmented by interest. Maybe with the upcoming hiveminds update we can see an improvement in aggregating content to target audiences so that more specialized content is delivered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74