My first trip to Green Sands Beach, Big island HawaiisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago (edited)

Just getting to Green Sands Beach can be quit the adventure. Look at all the different trails and potholes! If you get on one of the man made tracks and suddenly come upon a huge pothole, you have one of two choices, back up and go another or shift your vehicle into 4 wheel drive, put your foot on the gas and hope you don't get stuck. No worries if you do, there are always locals around ready to pull you out. You may have to wait awhile for someone to come along, but they will, eventually. My suggestion if you are a newbie or visitor, either hike or hire a shuttle to take you. Either way, you won't regret it.

Once you get there and step to the edge of the cliff, it is breathtaking! I have always been afraid of heights, so it took a lot of nerve for me to step to the edge of the cliff, much less go hiking down to the beach. Of course how could I not? Fortunatly there is a ladder goes down part of the way and the rest of the way are rocks which are fairly easy to get down.

When you get to the cove, make sure you dig around in the sand and look for the semi-precious green stones called Ovaline. I usually take plastic bags and a sifter so I can find the Ovaline easier. The biggest I have found is pea size but others have found much much bigger ones. If you like to boogie board, this is the perfect place for it. I myself am not a swimmer but the water is very shallow in some areas, so I just lay down on the sand and let the waves come in and cool me off. or you can do like some, take your boogie board to the top of the sand dunes and have fun sliding down.

Make sure before you go to leave your "Footprints in the Sand."

ALOHA and MAHALO for dropping by @thethreehugs

bruce1 1534.JPG

bruce1 1562.JPG

bruce1 1561.JPG

bruce1 1560.JPG

bruce1 1539.JPG

bruce1 1540.JPG

bruce1 1543.JPG

bruce1 1550.JPG

bruce1 1551.JPG

bruce1 1554.JPG

bruce1 1542.JPG

bruce1 1556.JPG

bruce1 1558.JPG

bruce1 1559.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1344.JPG

1111 066.JPG

1111 067.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1254.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1256.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1272.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1271.JPG

green sand bech -april 2012 1226.JPG

Sort:  

Very nice pictures you have @thethreehugs! Your post will be nominated to my blog.
PS what are these? looks like gems! Great shots!

Thanks @steemitdigest Those are semi precious stones called ovaline. Here is a link where you can learn more about them and Green Sands Beach:
https://www.hawaii-guide.com/big_island_of_hawaii/beaches/green_sand_beach_papakolea

Thank you very much @thethreehugs! i'll keep an eye on you ;-)

You live in such a beautiful place...i visited Maui once. A week trip i won in sales...should have stayed longer...it is a long way from Florida.... Loved every second though....great pictures! Do you have any problems with the chemicals from volcanos in the air...i have a friend who had to move away from the big island due to the air quality? I had never noticed it or thought of it while there.
Blessings,
Melssa

Yes, it is beautiful and I love the Kau area I live in. Lot's of beautiful forest and not as congested. I could hardly breathe when I first got here as was making lot's of trips to Hilo and had to drive past the volcano. A friend told me about a local woman that makes a product called "Breathe Better." It is amazing. I get very little vog where I live but it seems to have increased a bit more since the new flow in Kalapana area. How's Florida? I lived at Homestead AFB for a few years and really enjoyed it. I loved driving to the little Islands in the Keys.

beautiful picture...steping on d shore

thanks @steemitdigest Those are semi precious stones called ovaline. Here is a link where you can learn more about them and Green Sands Beach:
https://www.hawaii-guide.com/big_island_of_hawaii/beaches/green_sand_beach_papakolea

Thanks @impressions Not hard to get beautiful photos here on The Big Island. Just point and click. lol

Nice, Keep up the good work there...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48