How MSP/PAL Changed my Steemit Experience

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago (edited)
Before I joined Steemit, I was quite literally languishing. I had lost my dream job, my health has been absolutely terrible, and I honestly was giving up. Drifting day to day, the only thing breaking up the monotony was flip flopping between crippling depression and anxiety.

20623765_10211612603684056_1719884940_n.jpg


@lauralemons had been saying I should start a blog on here forever, that I would do well, and finally, I bit the bullet. I signed up, got my snarky name rocking, and apprehensively began to post. I mean, I needed money and it seemed like money was exactly what I would get for posting things I normally made into long statuses for Facebook. My first couple posts did very well, thanks to gracious visits by a whale named @donkeypong.

I felt rejuvenated, and somewhat validated if I am being completely honest. My friend's have always urged me to start a blog or a book, telling me that I constantly make them laugh, but that could easily be from a place of pure bias. Suddenly, strangers are laughing, and giving me MONEY.

It felt damn good.



But then something even more magical happened, I joined the PAL/msp (Peace, Abundance, Liberty/ Minnow Support Project) community over on Discord. And what originally was a quest for financial gain became a quest for laughter, friendship, community involvement, and fun. Exactly what Steemit should be. Sure, the money is a great perk, but it really isn't that important. Creating and sharing and connecting is much more valuable.

I no longer cared about financial gain.



In about a month's time, I have made countless friendships I wouldn't change for anything. I practically spend every waking moment lurking or interacting with the community. Over there, my brand of occasionally subversive and snarky humor is embraced. Well, for the most part.

Oh, and did I mention the glorious STEEMES?


20623794_10211612604244070_1774563098_n.jpg

20562614_10211612603924062_1029811727_n.jpg



Through the amazing community over at PAL, I have gained confidence in my writing skills through the fiction workshop channel, stimulating and silly conversation in General, and even met @artsygoddess who has started a Steem-Art discord in which she gave me a stitching channel! (That's right, aspiring curse word stitchers, you can come chat over there and learn/share your work in a dedicated room!)


Through my involvement in MSP I have seen an insane influx of traffic and attention to my blog. Instead of popping in and only using the bots, I stayed and talked to the many hard working individuals involved in this amazing project created for the sake of helping us little guys get visibility. Generous resteems and sharing of links happens very frequently if you stay around and become a compatriot, not just someone chasing an upvote. And trust me when I say, it is damn easy to do. There is even a streaming radio station that broadcasts on twitch and takes requests. We all jam out together and have fun.

@aggroed, The Big Purple, is a fearless and benevolent leader.
@gmuxx, our gallant knight, is a eloquent and classy riot.
@swelker101, well... Shane is blamed for everything, but we love him. We just have a funny way of showing it.

20613953_10211612952532777_489629313_n.png

@sammosk, the peachy wonder from down under heads the peachbomb movement. And he also runs creativebot, an initiative and curation for all things... well, creative. And artsy.
@sircork is a wise cracking smartass that often heads the msp radio program. And man, dat quick wit.
@crimsonclad, the moshin' atomic bomb after my own heart, has made an incredible website for the community.
And we can't forget our STEEME master, @soundwavesphoton. With blinding swiftness, there will be a STEEME in the chat as soon as a joke is made, and you can bet your sweet ass, it is usually Photon behind it.



There are too many other fun and kooky characters to even begin to list them all.

Come and hang out with us. Give it a week and tell me it hasn't changed the way you Steem! This one is for PAL. You guys have changed my life and I love you.


PAL/MSP Discord: https://discord.gg/yWn29K3

Steem-Art Discord: https://discord.gg/emsdtDK

Crimsonclad's amazing website: http://www.minnowsupportproject.org

And please consider delegating to the community! https://mspdelegator.herokuapp.com/


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

@stitchybitch That second to last meme with the pirate guy had me laughing... Something about mixing archaic culture with memes makes funny bones go crazy.

I know I don't say so much in the chat, because the constant flow of info makes me dizzy, but I wanted to drop by and show some support! Glad you're here!

I wish I could remember who made that! And I also ADORE the art memes. So beautiful. Such contrast!
Do you ever head over to quiet room if general is overwhelming? Also, the new channel for the radio station doesn't fly as fast as gen does, either!

I like all the words that Shakespeare, King James and Sir Francis Drake would have used :D But the 19th century had "snoutfair" and other great words.

I've checked out the quiet room once or twice & will check out the radio station channel as well. I've been balancing chat out with the regular Steemit room lately.

Did you ever see my "Dr Batty" video -- I took a quack ad from the late 19th century and turned it into a silly video that might run on local, late night tv. Made me 19 cents, it did! XD

https://steemit.com/video/@overkillcoin/video-19th-century-quackery-in-motion-dr-batty-s-asthma-cigarettes

This post received a 5% vote by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

We love having you in channel. You enrich us.

You enrage us? Unstitch us? Ubitch us?
Whatever.

I absolutely adore being there with all of you!

And I am using unstitch and ubitch from here on out! 😂

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

It is an absolute pleasure having you on board M'Lady. Posts such as this validate the hard work the entire community has put in to create the most groovy place on t'interwebs. Thanks for being a part of it. ❤️

<3 <3 <3
You guys work tirelessly and really have created such an unbelievable place on the worldwide webbies.
Thanks for having me and not booting me out for being unbearably myself!

Your inappropriate jokes are most welcome

You are such sweet spirit to have around. I've been here (like there) a few days and your energy, wit, brilliance, orgydasity, enthralls me. I look to a brighter future together.

Hey! Did you see my testimony of PALnet? Here! if you haven't. See you where it's bright.

Ah! Akpan, I absolutely adore you. Every time you show up in chat I clap my hands (even if I'm just quietly lurking).
❤❤ You're amazing words mean so much to me. You are so eloquent and the fact that you think these things of me just floors me!

So glad that you're part of the PAL family!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Discordiant from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yes, the PAL network brings it all together.

It really does!

Thanks a lot for showing me @artsygoddess since I am new here and I am also in arts looking for such a people

Oh good, I'm so glad! Here is to what is hopefully an awesome friendship!

Come for the upvotes, stay for the gravy!
Great post Stitchy!

Mmmmmm, gravy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89