You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First, What Not To Do - How To Win Followers And Influence People On Steemit - Part 1

Legimate points - I feel like because of the incentives and punishment systems built into the Steemit platform that bad content and users will eventually be cycled out or to the corners of visibility. However, (at least right now as a very new user) the network effect needs to grow for that to happen more rapidly.

In fact, it would seem like the most popular/biggest accounts would be driven to improve the integrity of the network by becoming a vanguard or first point of contact for new users. Because as you say, too many posts from low quality accounts is overwhelming. But a few encouraging posts or engagement...even mentorship from established accounts would serve as a way to strengthen the network relationships keeping new users from leaving if the don't feel drawn into the community.

Just my thoughts. It looks as if Steem has an opportunity to carve out a niche for itself on the social media landscape but it needs to make sure the content can remain better than networks such as Twitter or Snapchat. The reputation system can solve that perhaps.

Thanks for posting, going to read the follow up Part 2 now.

Sort:  

"Because as you say, too many posts from low quality accounts is overwhelming. "

Content organization is a high-priority problem for Steemit, if you ask me. I wouldn't mind just ripping off an organization similar to Reddit, which seems to get the job done and promote quality comment engagement.

I think that has a lot to do with it.

I like your ideas about mentoring. To an extent, that's the idea behind the Minnow Support Project. We have all sorts of writing and review workshops, and tools to help new users get their posts at least viewed, if not highly rewarded.

i know youve already mentored several people.

you do a lot of work

Yeah I'd say you were one of the most dutiful students.

I "mentored" you right into a massive Steem investment!

I was thinking more about the mentorship idea. It seems like there could be a way to help scaffold minnows through early milestones and gain a positive reputation or Steem Power. Meanwhile established members would get bonuses as well. From what I've been reading, it sounds like more steam flow through the system and help with quality retention could be bolstered.

That's not a bad idea. I guess you could allow linking accounts somehow, and reward the mature account for gains on the minnow account. Incidentally, this is usually the only reason I resteem a post - sending a minnow's post out to a larger group to get them rewards/followers.

Aggregation tools or a more robust landing page for display is critical, in my opinion. I'm not a huge fan of the Reddit style of layout but it works.

I'll take a look at the Minnor Support Project and see what I can learn. Thanks again

I read all and we all. Know hes right thats a facr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44