You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important Changes to Minnow Support Upvote Bot Behavior

I understand the attempt behind this.
I have no issue w/ the one vote a day. But I would like to see it set at like 22hrs. The reason is that would allow for people to post at same time each day. At 24 hrs, you have to post a little later each day to get the vote,or time it just right. I feel the 2 hr leeway would help to avoid this problem,While at the same time still promote the one vote a day concept.
Thank you for considering my input.

Sort:  

We can look into this. We want to see where the numbers lay, but I suspect the best short term fix is to wait a bit longer on one cool-down and set the new 'time' each day to be earlier. Will take many days to slide to a time that is too late.

So every month,or two you are posting an hr. later... :-)
I an not one to post at same time,I know there are better times to post,and a lot of people try to post at peak use times,I can see were this would hinder those attempts.
I believe it would be harder to manipulate a two vote in one day w/ 22 hr window ,than having to time it right to post at same time each day.
thank you for your response! and for considering my input.
Namaste!

I found it problematic, and I didn't notice this being an issue until after this recent update.

Here is how I had been proceeding with posting to minnowsupport/$upvote.
I would open Discord in the morning/evening, I would click in the search area, the drop-down would show my UPDATE posts or mentions. Click update, and it shows the most recent upvote.
So, I set the timer in my phone to alert me when 12 (twelve) hours + one minute after that last upvote occurred.
I would be denied the upvote because the bot was counting the SECONDS since the last upvote.
"Can't upvote, you're in cooldown for another 5.4 seconds" (for example)
~
Now how in the heck can we, as simple minnows, know the EXACT SECONDS of our previous post?
I thought this was NITPICKING in the extreme. I was already adding a whole sixty seconds to the previous post time ie... previous upvote at 7 am, I set my timer for 7:01 PM, 12 hrs + one minute.
Still got denied for blah blah number of seconds. 😜

All that being said @minnowsupport and @discordiant, I have no problem with a 24 hr cooldown period, I just didn't know about the change.
Thanks for pointing me to this post.

We are working to add a command like $cooldown that will help you to see in HH:MM:SS when your next $upvote can occur. We think this should be a matter of picking your best post from the ones you have already made, not making a post just for the purpose of using our $upvote on it.

We really were draining the bot, so the 24hrs had to happen. If you have to wait an extra minute or even several hours after your cooldown to have a convenient time to do $upvote, that is fine. You aren't missing something by doing it later than right on cool-down. Steemit won't go anywhere in that time.

I agree, but I say again, I didn't/don't have a problem other than

I didn't know.



I really like the idea of a $cooldown command to show me exactly when the last upvote occurred.
Even though I am small potatoes, I would consider delegating a small amount, IF I understood delegation better ha ha...
Thank you for your time and effort in all this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61