My First week at steemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

Wow! Time flies, it has been a week since I joined steemit. I first learned about this network last week when I decided to participate in the crypo currency wave. Yeah, it is hard to believe I did not heard of it before. I got interested in the concept because to me it felt it was a natural thing to do if one has the opportunity to create a currency. Well here I am and after a week the experience so far has been good, and after reading a post from @cryptokeepr I thought about writing a post telling my experience. I hope this helps to encourage newcomers. 

One of the things that is appealing to me of this network is that instead of censorship it appeals to community control. It make sense to me to let the community define what their interests are and choose. The rewards is a good method to filter good content, it is true that is not perfect, but in general it works. Recently, I found an interesting post by @cristi about science, and one by @frugallady about parenting, two current topics close to my heart. I have also found a lot of interesting information about cryptocurrencies, my most recent interest. After a week, I am still finding my way around to find people to follow and content that match my interests. However, the experience during these days has been rewarding and left me willing to invest more time exploring this new option to create content and connect with new people. 

One important thing that I found reassuring is the participation in this network of people actively looking after its success. It is not just someone in some headquarters trying to exploit all the information we post about our preference for their own financial benefit. These are active members like #whalepower taking the curation process seriously, so we can actually enjoy reading people that cares about what they are writing. In addition, I was impress with the concern with the copy-pasta, and the detection robots. It is encouraging to invest time writing knowing that the community will recognize the effort made thinking about a post, while not rewarding those who take the easy path. Still, I like that this is handle in a way that it encourage originality not censoring but rewarding those who care about the success of this project. 

For now, my experience with steemit makes me think that this is something to engage for the long run. I hope that my exploration is going to help me discover more people that are interesting and to find a network related to my interests. I will write a post after my first month and hope that by then my posts are better and to find topics of interest for this crowd. Finally, I welcome your advice, suggestions and support. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @jcgoez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jcgoez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40