Isolated

I've been on Steemit for about a week and a half, but I really feel like I haven't discovered much of it yet.
I work fifty hours a week, I try to work toward career goals, I need to see other people every so often, and of course I need to cook, sleep, buy food, do everyday things like that.
I would love to write professionally and I felt that Steemit would be a good place to write, both as professional practice and just for fun, but I feel so isolated on this site. I feel like you need to really search to find people to follow, so I haven't had the time to follow many people. I also wish you could follow tags, I think I'd interact with posts much more that way.
Long story short, I've found my initiation into this community difficult, and I worry that as time goes by, I will no longer be a "minnow" and so I'll have missed my initial opportunity to connect with other users.
If you have any tips for me, I'd love to hear them. I'd also love to hear how much interaction you have with other users- do people make connections here, as you can with Twitter mutuals, or does it feel more like you running your own blog which others interact with?

Sort:  

I've been kind of testing the waters on here too. It's been interesting for sure. I haven't been able to follow any topics but I do enjoy that I can search them, kind of makes it easier than just going through everything. Plus I've noticed that what I search sticks unless I remove it myself, which I find helpful.

I'm following you. I've written a couple of posts now that I've found my way around here about my experience and what I've done so far.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@legosnjoysticks/what-i-accomplished-and-learned-today-on-steemit-and-the-roadblocks-i-faced

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@legosnjoysticks/the-minnow-dilemma

I've spent a lot of time on here and I'm lucky because I'm a teacher and off for the summer. I was just like you finding it very hard to connect with people, but I'm getting there. I hope those posts help. I can help you with any questions you have.

I think I'm going to have to check out your blogs as well. Seems to be some useful information in them! 😊

Thank you! I'm following you now too! I'll check out your posts!

Thanks! I'm following you too, I'm going to read your posts now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51