Pennsif's Sustainability Curation Digest for MSP - week ending 8 July 2018

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

Five more great sustainability-related posts ranging from tanning to coffee beans.

There definitely seemed to be more quality posts this week to chose from. A good sign for sure.

If you spot any posts that you think would make the grade for next week's Top Five please do let me know.

So here are my five most excellent posts of the week...


My Five Picks of the Week

DIY Bark Tanning Leather Naturally by @ofsedgeandsalt

I have never tried tanning but it is definitely a homesteading skill that would be good to acquire.

For anyone wanting to learn to do it naturally this post from @ofsedgeandsalt is a must read...

*https://steemit.com/diy/@ofsedgeandsalt/diy-bark-tanning-leather-naturally



Orchard : Planning, Prepping & Planting by @phedizzle

I am a keen planter of fruit trees. My aim one day is to have a hundred of them!

@phedizzle gives a great run down in this post about how she is planting up her orchard...



Fireweed Tea!!! And it's free... by @epiphany

I didn't realise until I saw the photos in this post that Fireweed is Rosebay Willowherb in the UK.

And we have tons of it here... so I've put the kettle on for a nice cup of Fireweed Tea.

Check out @epiphany's post on the best way to prepare this...



Fresh Marigold Flower Tea

Why have one cup of new tea, when you can have two.

I didn't know Marigold Flower Tea was a thing either.

Take a sip of this post from @rakkasan84 to see how to make this one...



Drying coffee beans in the edible forest! by @daniellozada

Growing tropical foodstuffs is one of my dreams. Although living in Wales in the UK means that might take some time to realise.

@daniellozada tells us how his dries his coffee beans naturally on this farm...



I will be on the lookout now for posts to include in this weekly Sustainability Curation Digest.

I am also always seeking out new guests for the Alternative Lifestyle Show that I host on MSP Waves Radio every Friday.

If you haven't listened to the show before you can hear last week's episode here :

If you are interesting in coming on the show, or if you have suggestions for suitable posts for this digest, feel free to comment below, or contact me on Discord @Pennsif#9921.

I also run a charitable giving project called A Dollar A Day - you can read more about that here :

I am looking for more projects to support with that and I am particularly interested in finding some sustainability / renewables related projects.

The Minnow Support Project has multiple curators that pick five posts from under-valued minnows each week to highlight through MSP3k. This way MSP and PAL can promote new writers and content creators on Steemit, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.



While you are here check out these to see what else I do :


[ header graphic by @pennsif // tanning image @ofsedgeandsalt ]

Sort:  

Nice pics. Good job friend. i really like your work.

Nice collection this week. Really like the tanning one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01