You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I had to say on MSP-Waves

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

@beanz I'm only ~6wks in. I have invested a fair amount of time to try & learn the system. Posted a little, but I'm not a "blogger" or really an "author". Mostly I tried doing the "reviewer" thing to try & learn about good posts & it is easier to earn 0.001 for a comment than spending 2-3hrs on a post to earn the same.

Sort:  

I get what you are saying @fred777bear but for me it is just writing practice. I have a lot of subjects that I am researching just because life is so freakin' fascinating....and I have always dreamed of being a writer. Now I am. :-)

In the beginning, I did Upvote my content because no one else did. I stopped when I read that it was discouraged. I may still do it just because I do feel that my content is worth at least one Upvote. :-)

I have used the pay-for-a-vote "services" (mostly bellyrub) because I saw other successful writers do the same. I usually got the same return that I invested, and maybe 10 - 20 more votes because of it. I just figured that was how post were more visible thru Upvotes.

I wish there was a more engaging dialogue, but I have been on Steemit for less than a year. Maybe over time I will meet more like-minded folks?

In the end, I appreciate posts like these because that tells me that folks want real content. There is hope.

Thanks for reply.
I think for every "performer/actor/writer" there should be 100 or 1000 viewers. For that to work the "audience" need a reason to hang around, and telling them "get on stage" is not going to work.

Not everyone is a 'performer' some are consumers, and they need to be welcomed / embraced / encouraged as just that. they are perhaps more important than 'actors'. else it is just a crowd of a 1000 shouting over each other, & never heard.

if audience is not here it means the authors will produce less (due to less viewers) and the spiral is downwards IMHO

I think that in various communities on Steemit that is happening already (like with the "homesteader" community). I think the hardest to deal with are the folks that Upvote or comment on something that obviously wasn't read. My hope is that over time, we can weed out the people that are just in it to make coin. We will see!

Actually I think the 'weeding' is already happening......they come..they see...they leave

@yoginiofoz I was thinking about your comment last night re "weeding out".
While I agree that would be a good idea, it is 100% opposite to the "marketing" for steem.
it's the $$ that drag people in here. Then we "weed out"..... I'm not sure how that works.
Seems complicated and self defeating in some way to me.

I appreciate your perspective @fred777bear. The weeding out that I was talking about was just the people that flit from one concept, idea, or sales gimmick to the next. There is so much to distract these days, and it does not lend itself to anything real or concrete if we cannot spend time researching and pondering life's many questions.

I have been searching and will continue to search until my last breath (and hopefully beyond, God willing) for the answers to life's riddles.

I just notice that we are losing the ability to see and grasp the subtleties of life, which is so rich and diverse. Nature loses when we forget to go outside and just be.

You are correct. And as I mentioned I'm not sure if steem is a get rich quick concept or they plan for a long term thing.
so far they are saying the later, but pursuing actions that indicate the former IMHO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33