Tasty Terpenes: What makes weed differ in flavor?

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

As I was smoking a bowl and thinking on things to possibly write about informatively, I was struck by the obvious. What few topic do I know more about then marijuana? As I usually do I answer myself with not many. My love for this plant has been almost lifelong. Since a youngster smoking after school to the present older daily smoker I have damn near smoked it all. This may not make me a person to value as educated,however; there are a few things in which I am indeed educated.

Through my studies and research to obtain employment in the marijuana field( ha) I took some classes to learn more about this plant. I have aimed at being a part of a staff at a dispensary so I took some courses from the THC College greenthc.png

There are various and informative courses developed for those trying to be employed in the industry. One of these courses in which I took and passed was Terpenes & Terpenoids .

TERPENES & TERPENOIDS

These are aromatic compounds in various strains that contribute to the effects of cannabinoids. To put it much simpler these are the things that create flavor and smells in that kind bud we all love. They range from musky to fresh like flower or spicy to sweet like fruits. It turns out there are specific aromas associated with not only strains but the effects that these strains have upon your endo-cannabinoid system.

Terpenes are organic compounds produced in a variety of plants and even some insect that provide aroma of odor. Examples of terpenes can be found in lavender, coniferous trees, fruits and spices. They are also major compounds of Cannabis sativa plants which have up to 120 of these various compounds.

Terpenoids are organic compounds in plants used extensively for their aromatic qualities in herbal remedies. In the case of marijuana's herbal use it assists cannabinoids as they travel through our endo-cannabinoid system.

In the course of this study I was presented with 5 types of terpenes commonly found in our beloved herbal remedy.

  • Linalool +Limonene +Caryophyllene +Myrcene +Pinenes ( oh my)

  • LINALOOL = floral, fresh, lavender type fragrance found in cannabis flowers. These profiles assist in aromatherapy to aid in sleep, relaxation and an overall calming effect.

  • LIMONENE = citrus twang like lemon and other citrus fruit. Likely to induce energy and provide uplifting mood enhancement.

  • CARYOPHYLLENE = pepper and spice fragrance attributed to Beta-caryophyllene. It is found to be anti-inflammatory in addition to helping clear outover-stoned body effects.

  • MYRCENE = hops, lemongrass or murky, earth like aromas. Responsible for much of marijuana's sedative, relaxing and tension relief effects.

  • PINENE = obvious pine or coniferous tree scents. Effects include mental focus, calming clarity.

These compounds are not found strictly on their own within strains especially nowadays with the flourishing of hybrid growing. One strain may hit you right away with its flavor and you may be able to associate a possible effect to that aroma in such strains. Other strains are mixed and have flavor profiles that may be hard to place yet the effects are noticeable to the contributing terpene.

If any of this strikes your weed bones then let me know if your interested in more. This was a easy to translate and pretty short course . I have taken more then a few of these available at THC COLLEGE and received certification in some areas in hope to be more hire able as a dispensary associate.

I appreciate any feedback into how my post lacked this and that. I did do the best I could with this and am proud to consider it my finest post to date. Shout out to the smokers and jokers in the P.A.L. #general-deepend- NO POSTING! who helped me with format tips as well as being genuine and righteous people.

RESPECT

Sort:  

Good stuff man, I had no idea about them. This wonder plant is filled with surprises. Keep writing bout this stuff. Respect.

Thank you. Seems like a no brainer since it is a passion for me. I shall try to drop some more knowledge. RESPECT

Good "stuff", we'ed like to read more.

Thank you for reading and helping with errors. I shall bring more knowledge soon. RESPECT

Then my job here is done. Thank you for the read. RESPECT

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Fracas Grimm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61337.77
ETH 3390.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47