Don't Tell Your Friends About Steemit!

in #minnowsupport7 years ago

image source

No! Don't! You don't even know if it's real. You don't know how it works! How would you answer their questions? You know... questions like "where does the money come from?" or "why will some random stranger just gift me money?".

Ok I get it, you've been on here for a month and it looks like an exciting place and you really want everyone you know to be a part of it but have you got the hang of it just yet? No you haven't!

You're still trying to find your way through the maze and dark corners of Steemit and here you are trying to bring in more people. Are you trying to test out the phrase "blind leading the blind"?

Don't do it!

At least not yet!

There'll be time in the nearest future depending on how quick you're able to grasp this whole fiasco and develop your knowledge of the workings of this weird and different environment.

Steemit is not just a blogging platform. It's not Wordpress or Blogger. It's not like the millions of music blogs or tech blogs that put out the exact same stories.

This is the most distinct and singularly most important part of the culture shock new users experience.

I see many people get caught by @cheetah and on digging deeper, I discover they had been introduced by Steemians who are relatively new themselves.

The idea of getting paid for posting tends to be the bait but without proper understanding of the culture here, it will be extremely difficult to get off to a good enough start.

So what should you do?

You need to understand what Steemit is beyond the surface everyone sees. You need to experience the power of relationships formed and ideas shared, the power of collaboration. You need to feel all these and many more to really understand what Steemit is.

When this has happened, you're now in the position to properly guide whoever it is you're bringing on to Steemit.

You don't have to be here 5 months. It's not how long but how well you understand the entire concept. There's a vision to be caught and you can't fully appreciate Steemit till that vision comes in contact with you.


Like always, my posts are based on stuff I've experienced and this is no different. I had written this post halfway through before having a chat with @ericdyce and it was so heartwarming watching him explain how he now sees Steemit.

"Where did you put your brain all these while?" Was all my brain was screaming.

We'll all get this vision eventually as long as there are people to keep us on the right track.

Shoutout to @feekayo @timoshey @trillex @woleybabz and now @ericdyce for grasping this vision. It's the first step to genuine success here!


advocate


I'm an advocate for community growth and interaction. My posts are amateur attempts at sounding smart. If you like them, you could upvote, drop a comment, and resteem for your followers. 😉

image source

Sort:  

It becomes easier when you realise that your first goal in this community is to add value to your followers and the community at large, then other things will follow.
Thank you @fisteganos

Steem on!

Good good! 😊

Thank you for deeming it fit to invite me. Great post as always. 👌🏿

Thank you for being amazing 😉

oops you are late with the message, I already invited so many :D

Lmaooo..... Well now you have to go learn fast, and be able to guide them thru.

So true. I am a member of Steemit for approximately 20 days, my girlfriend joined last week, my brother and 2 close friends yesterday. More are joining soon. I really took my time before inviting them so that I could guide them and make sure they enjoy the platform as much as me.

It's good you already took time out to try and understand the concept of Steemit.

I read the whole whitepaper and bunch more :D Feel very confident with steemit.

Thank you! really

Totally agree, am learning new stuff about steemit everyday. It is a great platform and I do think the only way to make an even bigger community is to promote it to your friends, relatives and everyone you know, we need to become an ambassador of steemit. Regarding advising others I think it's best to leave that to the persons who understand the platform really well.

You have a point!

I feel like such an heart-warmer

Trillex the man!

when i invite people, i talk about the reward then i lay emphasis on Plagiarism

It's very important to remember to be ORIGINAL 😊

Brilliant and synchronistic. I was just wondering about this same topic. Thank you for sharing :) followed

Thanks for stopping by. I'm super glad you enjoyed it 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56